Vegan MoFo Contest Announcement for Week #3

15 Nov

Hello my food babies! I’m back from ballet and ready to share the next contest. Thanks and congrats again to the two winners of my second contest, Tara and Kate. Both your submissions sound fabulous!

It’s Monday evening, so it’s time for the third contest. So far, we’ve baked chocolate-free desserts and explored the world. This week, I’m challenging you (and me) to create something raw. It can be a dessert, a salad, or a main dish. You can use a dehydrator if you have one, a low oven setting, or just chop and serve. Whatever it is, just make sure it or its components aren’t cooked.

Need help figuring out where to start? Gena of Choosing Raw is full of fun ideas. Kristen’s Raw has some great resources, too. And there’s also Tara’s mouthwatering salad from Week #2.

Here are the rules:

1. To enter, email me photos of your entry plus a recipe by 11:59 p.m. Central Time on Sunday, November 21. Feel free to include pictures of the process as well as the final version. One photo of your finished product is OK, too. If you have a blog of your own, feel free to do a post about your submission instead of sending me the details. Just make sure to email me a link instead. Also, let me know if you have any food allergies in case you’re the winner so I don’t send you a package of things that’ll kill you.

2. All submissions must be raw. I know it’s getting cold out there, but incorporating some fresh, uncooked fruits and veggies is good for us even when all we want to do is swim in chili. (Or maybe that’s just me.) Even a simple salad fits the bill. If you’re feeling very adventurous, whip up a raw dessert, spiralize some zucchini, or try something else outside your usual comfort zone. Just make sure to use raw ingredients.

I hope this goes without saying, but again, 3. All entries must be vegan. Feel free to veganize something already in your repertoire, find an already-vegan recipe, or try out something totally new.

4. If your recipe was not made up by you, please cite your source. No one will lose points for using a preexisting recipe, but please just let me know where you found it.

One winner will receive a surprise package from me. Precise goodies have yet to be determined, but feel free to check out what I sent the first contest winner for an idea. Winners will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Creativity of the submission
  • Presentation
  • Effort

Do you plan to participate? Let me know in the comments! You can also pop over to the Vegging out in T-Town Facebook page to let me know. Please, please help spread the word! The more submissions, the more great ideas we’ll all have to share.

Thanks so much, friends, and I can’t wait to see what you make!

6 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Contest Announcement for Week #3”

  1. Ashley November 15, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Yay! I will definitely be entering this one. 🙂

  2. johnny November 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    can it be raw cookie dough ? ;-_)

  3. bitt November 16, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    I’m in the midst of a few raw recipes. I’ll enter for sure! great contest idea.

  4. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) November 16, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    What a good idea! I feel like I can always use more raw veggies myself. I will try to enter this one and will mention it in my post today.

    Ali

  5. Lizzie November 18, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I think I might give this one a go…

  6. Brandi November 19, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I’ve been interested in food lately and considering I didn’t have time to do your last contest I would be interested in being in this one. I’ll e-mail my blog post if I end up doing this.

Leave a comment