Archive | 9:36 pm

Goodbye, MoFo

30 Nov

Today is the end of Vegan MoFo for 2010. Thanks to everyone who followed my posts this month! It has meant a lot.

I decided on this list day to share once again my favorite recipes from the month since, really, we’re all here for the food, right? So here they are, Letterman Top-10-List style.

10. Butternut Squash with Sage. I’ve been craving this dish ever since I made it. Next time, I will double the amount of sage. It was perfect with the sweet squash.

9. Apple Arugula Salad. This salad was incredibly basic, but I loved it. I could eat it every week.

8. Pumpkin Cookie Shake (and all its variations).  Baked goods just got better.

7. Herb-Scalloped Potatoes. I was shocked at how easy it was to make vegan (and noochy!) scalloped potatoes. They were every bit as good as the dairy-filled ones I’ve had in the past.

6. Homemade Almond Milk. I don’t like the stuff straight up, but I never did drink dairy milk (or any of its alternatives) that way. This stuff is perfectly creamy and excellent in cooking and baking. Just make sure to strain it through cheesecloth or – my newest method – cloth napkins. Paper towels are a poor choice.

5. Stir-Fried Carrots and Ginger with Mustard Seeds. My mouth waters just thinking of these. They were delectable! The ginger added great dimension, and the mustard seeds added pizzazz.

4. On-the-Fly Peanut Sauce Version II. It’s ridiculously quick and adaptable to your tastes (i.e. I know not everyone likes spicy food as much as I do). I LOVED it on the baked sweet potato, but it’s also delicious on pasta. And probably any other vegetable you could throw my way.

3. Riso all’autunno. It’s rich, satisfying, seasonal, and chock-full of nutrition. Plus, it’s pretty, and it’ll get you to eat your beets AND Brussels sprouts. It’s magic!

2. Pumpkin Boatmeal ala Chocolate Covered Katie. Though you’ve been in my life but a short time, your power is undeniable. I spent all day yesterday dreaming about it, and today is shaping up to go the same way. Please, please make this stuff.

1. Homemade Gnocchi with Arrabbiata Sauce. This was my biggest accomplishment of the month and also one of the tastiest things I’ve ever cooked. The gnocchi are like little pillows, except they taste good. I’ve never eaten a pillow, but I don’t imagine they’d be my cup of tea. The sauce is deliciously spicy and a great complement to the soft gnocchi.

I also want to give out two Honorable Mentions. I excluded these from the Top 10 list because they weren’t at all new to me, so it didn’t seem fair to compare them to the above recipes.

What’s your favorite new thing you made this November?

Thanks again for sharing MoFo with me. I hope you’ll stick around!