Archive | 6:51 pm

Restaurant Review: Ri Le *****

26 Nov

It’s the day after Thanksgiving, and because I was too shy to whip out my camera during the festivities, I have no pictures to share. However, I can assure you that I stuck to my plan and did not overeat. I had baked beans (made by my taller half), three rolls (that may have been excessive), mashed potatoes, and two pieces of the Chocolate Gingerbread I made at the first meal. At the second, I just had salad, a little more mashed potatoes, scalloped corn, and vegan (gluten-free) pumpkin pie. It was all tasty, and I didn’t go to bed feeling like death.

We woke up with appetites today, however, so we went to one of our favorite places in town, Ri Le, a Vietnamese institution in town.

Here is the appetizer section of the menu:

Oh, baby. I will go ahead and confess that these photos are from a different visit to the restaurant, but we both ate the same thing. We started, as always, with the vegetable imperial rolls.

They come with a mouth-watering peanut sauce. The rolls themselves are lettuce, cilantro, carrots, and soy “chicken” in rice paper. Yum.

Now check out the vegetarian section of the menu:

I went with one of my four favorites, the Chicken Soys with Ginger. The picture below is the same dish but with the Beef Soys instead:

Look at all those veggies. The sauce is perfectly flavored and robust. Ri Le’s food is never particularly spicy, but it’s flavorful and delicious. For the record, my other fave dishes are Lemongrass, Sesame, and Hot Garlic. All are good with either the fake chicken or the fake beef. I’m not typically a fan of meat analogs, but these are amazing. Every time I go, I hear a meat-eater exclaim that they’d never guess the “chicken” was totally vegetarian.

My taller half had the Deluxe Soy Bun (vegetarian version of the Bun Cha Gio):

It contains soy meats made to resemble chicken, beef, fish, and egg rolls. It is also served with a delicious faux-fish sauce.

Meals come served with a bowl of steamed white rice, which you can see below the veggies and fake meat here:

Rating: a big, fat ***** for veggie options and ***** for deliciousness. (See this post for scoring guide.) This place has earned its reputation. Check out this article about the owner in the November issue of Tulsa People.

Ri Le is at 4932 E 91st Street, Suite 102. They are closed on Sundays.

