Archive | 8:41 pm

Herb-Scalloped Potatoes

16 Nov

It’s a busy Tuesday for me, so sadly I don’t have time to share both the recipes I planned. I’ll just have to give you a rain check for the second one. How does tomorrow sound?

Anyway, my taller half and I decided to do a veggie-centric meal again. This week, we chose potatoes and carrots. Voila:

It doesn’t look like a lot, but it was fairly filling. I will be making a dessert smoothie in just a few minutes, too, so no worries about me starving.

We chose to whip up a batch of Herb-Scalloped Potatoes from Veganomicon because, well, why wouldn’t we? The result was fantastic, seriously. The top layer got all crisp and herby, and the bottom was enveloped in a creamy — but totally vegan and low-fat — sauce. It was a winner! Want to make your own? I highly encourage it. The recipe below shows my tweaks. Check out the original if you’re a purist.

  • 2 lbs white potatoes, scrubbed clean and sliced into 1/8″-thick disks
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup fresh almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon (or so) extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced (original says 3, but I’m a rebel)
  • 3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon herbes de Provence (it calls for thyme, but we were out)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil*
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary*
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika*
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400° F. Spray a 9×13″ baking pan. Layer the potatoes in the pan, overlapping slightly. Pour almost all the vegetable broth on top. Now pour on the almond milk. Drizzle the olive oil so that all the slices have at least a little on top. Scatter garlic and 2 tablespoons of the nutritional yeast over the potatoes. Pour the rest of the broth on top. Sprinkle on the remaining nutritional yeast and the herbs.

Cover loosely with aluminum foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for another 15 minutes. Serves 4.

*I doubled the spice measurements from the original, so if you like milder flavors, halve all these.

They are so delicious and pretty easy, too. They would make a great side dish for Thanksgiving. I bet the meat-eaters wouldn’t even notice they’re vegan.

Vegging out on video

16 Nov

I apologize for what you are about to see, namely me on a Monday morning.

Actually, in the grand scheme of things, I suppose I am a morning person, though my face doesn’t always show it. Anyway, check out the video and give me your input.


Is it a bird? Is it a seal? Is it Superman?