Archive | 10:38 pm

Vegan MoFo Contest Announcement for Week #1

1 Nov

Hello, lovely readers! Who is ready to fire up an oven and create something delicious?

For my first contest, I’m going with a tried-and-true vegan bake-off, and I hope you will all join in. You can bake absolutely anything you like – cookies, pies, cakes, bars, cupcakes, muffins, etc. – with one twist: your submission must not contain chocolate. (And it must be vegan, of course.)

You’ll notice that pretty much every dessert I post on this blog is chocolate this or chocolate that, so I’m using this challenge to force myself and all of you to step out of the chocolate rut. There are so many other great flavors that taste wonderful in a cookie or a cake, so get creative!

So what’s in it for you? All submissions will be featured on this blog with accompanying photos and recipes. I will gladly link back to your blog or site if you have one, too. Cross-promotion is a pretty nice benefit, yes?

But a prize is even better. One winner (to be judged by me) will receive a surprise package from me. Precise goodies have yet to be determined, but expect some homemade baked goods and some of my favorite vegan products. Is that sweet enough for you?

Here are the rules:

1. To enter, email me photos of your baked good plus a recipe by 11:59 p.m. Central Time on Sunday, November 7. Feel free to include pictures of the process as well as the final version. One photo of your finished product is OK, too. I want this contest to be fun and stress-free. Conversely, if you have a blog of your own, feel free to do a post about your baked good in lieu of sending me the details. Just make sure to email me a link instead. Also, let me know if you have any food allergies in case you’re the winner so I don’t send you a package of things that’ll kill ya.

2. All submissions must be baked goods. I love candy and raw treats, too, but this is a baking challenge! Grease your pans or muffin tins, and come up with something fabulous to put in your oven.

3. Remember: no chocolate! I want to see what else we can all do, myself included.

I hope this goes without being said, but, of course, 4. All baked goods must be vegan. If you’ve never made a vegan sweet treat before, there are tons of great resources. You can’t go wrong with The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau or anything by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Both sources offer full recipes as well as information on substituting milk and eggs for vegan counterparts.

5. If your recipe was not made up by you, please cite your source. No one will lose points for using a preexisting recipe, but please just let me know where you found it.

Winners will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Creativity of the submission
  • Presentation
  • Effort

OK, so judging isn’t highly scientific, but I will try to be objective. If I am having trouble seeing past the raisins in your otherwise lovely oatmeal cookies, I will call in reinforcements (in the form of my taller half’s discerning eye).

Do you plan to participate? Let me know in the comments! Though this step isn’t mandatory, I’d love to get an idea of how many folks to expect. And please spread the word!

Have fun, and happy baking!

Vegan MoFo Begins

1 Nov

Happy first day of November! And more importantly, welcome to Vegan MoFo! (Want to know why I’m cussing at you? Read this post or the official site.)

So, what does this all mean for my readers? The answer is three-fold.

1. 30 days of vegan blogging. Yes, that’s right, I am committing to at least one post for every day in November. I feel confident that I can do it, but please keep me honest by reading every day.

To give myself something to post about, here’s what you can expect to see throughout November:
Meatless Monday Meal Ideas every Sunday night.
• Five recipes a week.
• Baked goods every Friday.
• A cookbook of the week.

How does that sound? I want to hear your feedback!

2. Updated pages on the blog. My three info pages (restaurant reviews, book reviews, and recipes) are all updated – finally. I got behind on those very quickly. I vow to keep them updated throughout November (and hopefully the habit will stick).

3. Weekly contests. I’ve never held a contest on this blog before. In fact, I’m a little nervous that I won’t have any participants, so I hope you’ll join in! I will post the topic every Monday, and you’ll have all week to complete. I will announce the winner the following Monday before kicking off the new contest. All the details will be posted in each post, so keep your eyes open each Monday!

I want your feedback. Do these features interest you? Is there something else you’d like to see on my blog? Feel free to leave comments, send me an email, or hit up the Facebook page. I look forward to hearing from you!

Stay tuned for the first contest announcement today!