Archive | 10:08 pm

Gingery Carrots

17 Nov

Last night, I left off with a promise to share the carrot recipe we tried at dinner. I decided I would make good.

I am not a big fan of cooked carrots. I tend to like veggies very crisp, so the typical cooking methods – especially boiling, which I cannot stand, and steaming – often leave produce soggy and limp. When done correctly, that isn’t the case, but, as you can tell, I’m very, very picky. Boiled carrots are one of the most disgusting things in the world, in my opinion.

When I found the recipe we tried last night, I decided that I had to give it a go. First off, it involves shredded carrots. I have no desire to use a shredder (thanks, taller half!), but I do like the texture a lot. The cooking time was incredibly minimal, which is great time-wise and texture-wise. AND it involved lime and ginger. Sounded like a winner.

Stir-Fried Carrots and Ginger with Mustard Seeds (from Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian)

  • 3 tablespoons peanut or canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon whole yellow or brown mustard seeds
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled and coarsely grated
  • 2 inches of fresh ginger, peeled and coarsely grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice

When everything’s grated and measured, heat the oil in a large saute pan over medium to medium-high heat. Add the mustard seeds until they pop, which is almost immediate, and then throw in the carrots, ginger, salt, cayenne, and lime juice. Stir fry for 2 to 3 minutes.

Definitely, definitely a winner. I loved this dish! It was so bright and flavorful between the natural sweetness of the carrots, the bite of the ginger, and the background citrus notes from the lime juice. If I had cooked it for myself (well, or at all – the only work I did on this dish was eating it), I would have toned down the oil, but that’s how I do things.

Give this carrot dish a try if you love ginger. It won’t disappoint!

Cookbook of the Week #3: Veganomicon

17 Nov

When I say the name of the current Cookbook of the Week, I always sing it to the tune of the “Hallelujah” chorus of Handel’s Messiah: “Veganomicon, Veganomicon, Veganomicon…” You get the idea.

I’ve had this book for about a year, and I really don’t use it as much as I should. Part of the reason is that many of the recipes are more time-consuming than is realistic for my daily lifestyle. However, pretty much everything I’ve made from the book has been a success (with the exception of the floptastic pancakes that one time), so I decided to spotlight it this week. You undoubtedly noticed – because I know you all pore over my words and don’t miss a syllable – that last night’s scalloped potatoes were based on a Veganomicon recipe. I have also thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican Millet, Black Beans with Chipotle Adobo Sauce, the Chickpea Cutlets, and the Pasta e Fagioli.

I wouldn’t recommend Veganomicon for a brand-new cook. Many of the recipes require a large time and effort investment. However, if you know your way around the kitchen and want to expand your vegan-cooking horizons, you must pick up a copy.

And because I’m just all full of warm fuzzies toward Vegan MoFo this month, I’m giving away a copy of Veganomicon! That’s right, friends. This wonderful cookbook could be all yours.

Here’s how you can enter:

1. “Like” the Vegging out in T-Town Facebook page and leave me a comment here letting me know you did. That’ll give you one chance to win.
2. Tweet about the giveaway with a link to this post and leave me a comment with a link to your post. That’ll give you one chance to win.
3. Post about the giveaway on your blog with a link to this post and leave me a comment with a link to what you wrote. Doing so will give you two chances.
4. Leave a comment on this post either telling me what you most want to make from Veganomicon or what you most want to make from my recipes page. This will give you one chance to win.

That means each entrant can have up to five chances to win! Woo hoo! I like them odds. (Yes, “them.” I’m an Okie, remember?) I will use a random number generator to pick the winner. If you want to win, make sure to enter by Sunday, November 28 at 11:59 p.m. Central time. Good luck!