Eat to Live update

27 Feb

I’m currently on week three of my modified cleanse, so I owe you an update. I have decided to keep up the Eat to Live-style eating pretty strictly during the week and then not so much on the weekends. Why? Well, to be totally frank, I find anything eating plan that is too strict/regimented causes a flare-up of my past disordered eating. I also need a little more fat in my diet than the plan allows or else I end up binging. Sorry, I know these are not pleasant topics, and I don’t want to go into a whole thing, but they are part of why I’m modifying the plan.

So that said, I have been loving the super clean breakfasts and lunches. Dinners have been great, too, though I’ve been snacky a bit. Here’s how a day of eating looks for me:

6:30 a.m.: I have enjoyed a smoothie every morning, as well as a cup of hot tea with a little honey. As I mentioned, all smoothies include a tablespoon of ground flax, 2 cups of spinach, a banana, 1/4 cup of oatmeal, a cup of organic soy milk, and 1 cup of frozen fruit. For the latter, I always have strawberries, mango and pineapple in the freezer because that is what is affordably accessible to me (and I don’t hate, e.g. blueberries). I switch up the combinations. I also add cinnamon and ginger for flavor, anti-inflammatory properties, and help with blood-sugar issues. These smoothies really do keep me full until lunch. Poppy chills in the background with her hay.

20130225-163556.jpg
8:00 a.m.: First thing at work, I have a cup or two of black decaf coffee. I will have one cup of caffeinated if I’m dragging.

Between 10 and 11 a.m.: I eat an orange and tea, usually green. While I’m not hungry at this point of the day, I need the piece of fruit to keep my blood sugar in check.

20130225-163718.jpg

12:30 p.m.: Lunch is a salad of greens, beans and one other veggie. The first week, I did mixed greens with raw or roasted veggies and hummus dressing (homemade oil-free hummus thinned with juice of half a lemon):

20130225-164035.jpg
Then I switched it up to be garbanzo beans on the greens and a dressing of Dijon and lemon juice, with whole carrots on the side. No picture, but you can imagine. Immediately after, I have a mug of ginger tea to help with my digestion.

Between 2 and 3 p.m.: I drink more tea (varies) alongside an apple with nut butter, either my homemade cashew butter or store-bought peanut butter (both with no added oils).

20130225-164305.jpg
7 p.m.: Dinners are all bean-focused (at least one cup per serving) and generally have a side of steamed greens. In addition to the chili I shared before, there has been hot and sour soup:

20130225-164632.jpg
Spicy tempeh salad:

20130225-164716.jpg
And the unpictured spaghetti squash, Mexican-inspired salad, and chickpea soup.

How Do I Feel? Great! As long as I remember to eat my snacks and allow myself some healthy fats. I’ve also relearned the hard way that peanut butter is a trigger food for me, so I can’t stash it in my desk at work without eating the entire jar. I also experienced some detox symptoms — mainly tummy unhappiness and the headaches — but they have faded.

I will share some more Eat to Live-inspired eats this week, since I’m pretty excited about the meal plan!

Leave a Reply

