Rabbit food

15 Feb

I haven’t posted as planned this week thanks to a cluster of migraines. It’s been miserable. Somehow I got through the work days, but by 5:00 I felt like total and utter crap. I kept up with my eating, and I promise a post tomorrow on how it’s going. Spoiler alert: salad city.

Instead of food, I have some exciting news to share: there’s a new vegetarian in our house!

20130215-162438.jpg
Meet the newest member of our Hollywood home. Poppy is a 6-year-old mini lop. Her previous owners have to move out of the state next week, so they reluctantly sought a new home from her. Lynn put out a plea on her blog, and I instantly fell in love. We’ve been sadly without a pet since Sully’s death (in 2011), and though we’re not technically supposed to have one (shh! Don’t tell our building manager), we knew we couldn’t say no to her fluffy tail and wiggly nose. She’s been ours for less than 24 hours, but we already adore her. This morning, we had breakfast together:

20130215-162608.jpg
We both had our greens. Mine was a smoothie, and hers were beet greens. In anticipation of her adoption, I’ve been saving the ends of carrots, stems of cauliflower, and greens from veggies in a baggy in the fridge for her. Rabbits need lots of vegetables (about four cups a day, according to my research), as well as unlimited hay, some pellets, and a smidge of fruit as a treat. She loves bananas.

Expect more Poppy pictures in the near future. She’s a member of the family now!

5 Responses to “Rabbit food”

  1. Lynn @ The Actor's Diet February 15, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    oh my god! so happy she found a good home. i just said goodbye to brad/mayuka today. thank you for your help!!!

    • Brigid February 16, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      I just saw your post! I’m sorry your friends are leaving (they seem incredibly sweet), and I’m even sorrier that Mayuka had to say goodbye to Poppy, but we couldn’t be more thrilled to have her in our home. Thank you for connecting us!

  2. audreyeclecticg February 16, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Awwww, you’re a bun mama now too! She’s very pretty. Rabbits are so funny. Girls are especially ornery (well, at least mine are!) you’ll have lots of fun. Especially when they bink– when they’re hopping and so happy they do a little leap in the air. Each time, I die! So cute!

    • Brigid February 16, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      I’m so excited! I had a couple of rabbits as a kid, but it’s been close to 20 years now. Poppy sure is ornery. She is sure that there is a spot in the carpet under the desk chair that she just has to burrow under. Ha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Parting is Such Sweet Pizza - February 16, 2013

    […] I’ll wrap up this post on some happy notes – their bunny Poppy found a new home… […]

Leave a Reply

