Eating to Live

11 Feb

Normally I would be sharing my CSA haul for the week, but I had an insane Sunday, complete with a migraine, so I put everything away without managing a photo. So instead of itemizing my haul, I will just share my meal plan for the week.

I’ve been feeling off-kilter for a little while now and doing way too much stress eating, so I decided to eat very clean this week. I hesitate to call this a cleanse, but it is an opportunity for me to hit the reset button and get my eating back on track. I decided to do the Eat to Live plan with a little Thrive Forward sensibility thrown in. Here’s how it shakes out:

Breakfast: Green smoothies (1 tablespoon ground flax, 2 cups spinach, 1 banana, 1 cup frozen fruit, 1 cup soy milk, 1/4 cup oatmeal, and a sprinkle of ground ginger and cinnamon)

Lunch: Big salads (3 cups greens, 1 cup roasted veggies, 1/4 cup hummus, and juice of 1/2 a lemon)

Snacks: Orange, apple with homemade cashew butter

Dinner:
Monday/Tuesday — Chili (basically this recipe but with six cups of beans, no olive oil, and twice as many tomatoes), steamed chard, and homemade chips (one tortilla’s worth for me, and two for him) and 1/4 cup salsa
Wednesday/ThursdaySlow Cooker Hot and Sour Soup and steamed greens
Friday/Saturday — Spaghetti squash with tomato-lentil sauce and salad

So as you can see, there’s a pretty common theme: lots and lots and lots of veggies, both raw and cooked. On top of that, I’m eating no added fats (so no oil), no added sugars, and very little starch. I’m also avoiding alcohol and reducing my caffeine intake, which may be contributing to my headaches but is a necessary evil. My meals are planned using the parameters of Dr. Fuhrman’s philosophy, but I’m incorporating two daily snacks a la Thrive because it’s the way my body prefers to get its calories.

I will post throughout the week to share my daily meals. Spoiler alert: there will be a lot of salads. 🙂

One Response to “Eating to Live”

  1. Tammy February 12, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    I did that plan for a while and really liked it. My family went crazy though. Good luck – looking forward to seeing your salads!

Leave a Reply

