Running update

17 Jan

Yesterday’s review inspired me to write a post about my running adventures.

I told you about our little family goal to workout six times a week for two months. So far, it’s been going great! Mr. X has not missed a beat. I admittedly skipped one run the day I found out about my family tragedy, but we’ve decided to excuse me due the gravity of the situation (and, frankly, how hard I’ve been taking the loss). Otherwise, I have finished all my scheduled runs, and I’m slowly increasing my speed and stamina. Here’s what I’ve been up to the last week (plus a preview of Saturday’s short run):

TrainingHow do I feel? I feel amazing. Seriously. After the first few days, the soreness has lessened considerably. I had been struggling to complete all my miles without walking breaks — even the short distances — but then something changed this weekend. Suddenly my runs were an opportunity to release the emotions I’ve been feeling. Even though I walked a third of a couple of two- and three-milers, on Sunday I somehow managed to run five entire miles. I stopped for red lights, but otherwise, I ran five miles. I know there are a lot of great athletes out there, and plenty of people who routinely run that distance, but I don’t. I have never felt stronger, or more like I can do anything.

However, I have noticed a little knee pain this week. I know how important strength training is no matter what you’re doing, but I have been totally half-assing any work. That has to stop! I need to do more leg work in addition to core and arms. The last thing I want to do is injure my knee (or any other part of me, for that matter) when I’m feeling so into the training. I found this article about strength exercises for runners, and I will keep looking for more ideas. If you have any to share, please do!

I will never be a marathoner (’cause I don’t wanna), but I’m excited to do my first 10k this year, and actually feel prepared for it!

How are your 2013 goals coming? I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

