CSA Week 11 and Thanksgiving

18 Nov

Oy. I’ve been stressed and down lately, which is the reason I’ve been quiet. Sometimes life is just hard, and I’m doing my best to deal, but it does make me less motivated to post. My apologies. You didn’t miss too much this week, though, as I barely cooked. That’s always a sure sign that I’m a little down in the dumps.

But today starts a new week — and a short holiday one at that. Yay! My brother-in-law is coming to town on Wednesday, so I’m not doing my usual meal planning. I did pick up our CSA box today, though:

20121118-120116.jpg

We have:

20121118-120149.jpg
-romaine
-Swiss chard
-arugula
-bok choy
-white spring onions
-parsley
-cauliflower
-broccoli
-curly kale
-Fuji apples

I’ve been brainstorming what to make for Thanksgiving, and here’s my menu so far:

Sweet potato sourdough rolls
Salad
Cranberry sauce
Shepherd’s pie (with lentils and butternut topping)
Garlic mashed potatoes
Green beans
Pecan pie

It’s all still subject to change — and there’s always a chance I will say “screw it” and buy something. Only the stress of the week will tell.

That’s all for now. I hope everyone has a pleasant Sunday!

Check out this week’s link-up at In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” series!

4 Responses to “CSA Week 11 and Thanksgiving”

  1. Lynn @ The Actor's Diet November 18, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    sorry you’re stressed. i’m sure cooking some of those veggies will cheer you up…

    • Brigid November 19, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Eh, it happens. Luckily I’m less than three days until vacation! And yes, I’m excited to do some actual cooking this week.

  2. Tammy November 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Also sorry to hear that you’re stressed. That’s why the holidays are perfect this time of year! We also put green beans on the menu but they aren’t in our CSA!

    • Brigid November 19, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      We didn’t get any either, and I’m considering subbing in roasted Brussels sprouts instead. I’ve been craving them.

Leave a Reply

