CSA Week 10 and Meal Planning

11 Nov

Sorry for the radio silence, folks! The week was a little crazy. Between a huge event and covering our satellite office, I did not have much of an opportunity to post. I have some tasty recipes banked — including a crazy delicious bread pudding! — though, so I will share throughout the week.

Anyway, let’s get down to my regular Sunday post: CSA and meal planning, this week’s haul:

20121111-191454.jpg

-arugula
-white spring onions (they look like the world’s largest green onions)
-romaine lettuce
-pomegranate
-three honeycrisp apples
-beets with greens
-cilantro
-parsley
-Swiss chard
-cauliflower
-broccoli

This is the first week in a while that we haven’t had a butternut squash, and as much as I love them, I’m glad for it. We still have half a roasted one in the fridge to use plus another small one that is still raw. Maybe with the next arrival, I’ll be ready to tackle lasagna.

Speaking of which, here is this week’s meal plan:

Breakfast: pumpkin sourdough pancakes (special Veteran’s Day off celebratory breakfast), Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal the rest of the week

Lunch: soy chorizo tacos (him), maybe Beet Burgers on salad (me)

Dinner: Butternut Squash Mac ‘n Cheeze with broccoli and mushrooms (didn’t get around to it last week), Mexican Lasagna with sautéed chard (can you tell it’s Mr. X’s favorite?), Baby Portobello Stroganoff over barley with roasted cauliflower

I always have a few other things on hand in case I need to improvise a meal. This week it’s black beans, lentils, 28 oz can of tomatoes, a little brown rice, and half a package of whole wheat spaghetti, as well as condiments, spices, and the like.

So that’s it for today. I’ve been waylaid with a migraine much of the weekend, so I’m extra grateful for the day off tomorrow. It’s time to relax, but I’ll be back tomorrow!

Every week, I link up with In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” series. Click hereto check out this week’s collection of CSA hauls!

6 Responses to “CSA Week 10 and Meal Planning”

  1. annierie November 12, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I’ve been making pumpkin hummus with my squash, and it gets eaten really quickly.

    I need to try your squash Mac and cheese. It looks so good.

    I finally used the last of our butternuts but I have a Thelma Sanders to use this week.

    • Brigid November 13, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      Yum! I’ve made pumpkin hummus once before I loved it. Do you add tahini to yours? The mac and cheese is from Oh She Glows, and man is it good. She has some great recipes that I love to borrow. 🙂

      • annierie November 13, 2012 at 11:21 am #

        My first recipe did not include tahini but my latest did. I like it more with the tahini. I posted that recipe link over at In Her Chucks, as well as my ajvar recipe, which is red peppers, eggplant and garlic. My husband devours the ajvar, and likes the hummus.

        I am loving the ideas we are getting here at In Her Chucks CSA link parties.

  2. Lauren November 12, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    That mac and cheese looks amazing! I am tempted to do that instead of the stuffed squash I had planned for dinner…

  3. inherchucks November 14, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    Honey crisp apples really are the best aren’t they?

    Thanks for linking up and sharing your delicious goodness with the rest of the party 🙂

Leave a Reply

