The smallest one was . . .

31 Oct

Happy Halloween — or should I say, Joyeux Halloween, for je suis Madeline:

I figured since my hair is the right shade (though hard to tell in the iPhone photo), I couldn’t go wrong with one of my favorite storybook characters. I threw the main part of the costume together at home (not pictured: white socks and Mary Janes) and then made the hat and assembled the cape at work. Oh the joys of working for an arts organization. Madeline is the third kiddie fiction character I’ve portrayed on Halloween, having been both Dorothy and Alice numerous times. Some ladies embrace the cleavage and high heels on Halloween; I’ve always enjoyed flats and dressing up like a 7-year-old.

Today is also the last day of Vegan Mofo. I’ve had a lot of fun this year, and I hope you have, too! I’m excited that Kale Crusaders featured my Garbanzo Barbecue Sliders today, along with some tasty-looking recipes by other bloggers. Read the post here. Thanks so much!

I’m taking it sleazy easy with today’s post, I would love to hear what you chose for your Halloween costume this year. Leave it in the comments.

So “That’s all there is; there isn’t any more.” Au revoir!

4 Responses to “The smallest one was . . .”

  1. April October 31, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Your costume is adorable! I have no idea what I’m doing for tonight. I’d thought about letting my hair down, putting on one of my medieval dresses, and being the gal from “Brave”, but I can’t find a bow and arrows anywhere. I’d be Fiona from “Shrek” again, but I have no idea what I did with my green velvet dress. *grin*

    • Brigid October 31, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Cute ideas! If you’re crafty at all, you could totally make a bow and arrow from sticks and string.

  2. Lynn @ The Actor's Diet October 31, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    you are adorable! FYI my cousins wrote the screenplay adaptation of madeline!

    • Brigid November 1, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      Thanks! That’s so cool. I was a huge Madeline fan as a kid.

Leave a Reply

