CSA Week 8 and Meal Planning

30 Oct

Hey everyone! I am finally back in town and mostly in commission. I was in the Midwest for a week with my mom, who had surgery. No worries — she’s well! But I’m a little exhausted, as I expected, so the last several posts were all pre-scheduled.

Anyway, I wasn’t in town for the CSA pick-up this week, but my lovely husband sneaked out before the Giants game to bring in our haul. Here’s the picture he sent me of the bounty:

  • Beets
  • Japanese eggplants
  • Roma (?) tomatoes
  • Arugula
  • Butternut squash
  • Bitter greens
  • Purple basil
  • Curly kale
  • Lettuce
  • Swiss chard
  • Pomegranates
  • Parsley
  • Little tiny summer squashes

I’m so, so excited about those pomegranates! Or, rather, that pomegranate since he ate one before I got home. Because the week is kinda crazy, I haven’t made a meal plan, but here are some ideas:

  • Roasted beet salad
  • Pasta or pizza with tomato sauce, eggplant and squashes
  • Polenta with squash
  • Butternut squash lasagna
  • Lentil soup

Nothing too crazy, as you can see. I just need to get back to normal life after a week away.

As for exercise, I got off track with my running plan, so this week I will attempt to pick up where I left off. Here’s to my return to reality!

Every week, I participate in In Her Chucks‘ “What’s in the Box?” link-up. Click here to see boxes from all over!

4 Responses to “CSA Week 8 and Meal Planning”

  1. inherchucks October 31, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Awesome haul! Very jealous of the pomegranates…and that gorgeous purple basil.

    Welcome home 🙂 And as always, thanks for linking up.

    • Brigid October 31, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      I really hope the pomegranates stick around for a while!

  2. Tammy October 31, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    Great box to come home to!

    • Brigid October 31, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Definitely! I am diving into it this evening.

Leave a Reply

