Noodles two ways

27 Oct

Both of these recipes featuring whole wheat spaghetti fall under the categories of “basic and tasty” and “good ways to use up vegetables that are hanging out in the fridge possibly too long.” The first is Italian-style:

Like I said: basic. It features an even simpler version of my Roasted Tomato Sauce (by using fire-roasted tomatoes from a can, but adding in fresh oregano from my CSA basket), a Tofurkey Italian Sausage, roasted zucchini, and crushed red pepper. Quick, easy, delicious.

The second version was a Saturday lunch stir fry-style:

It seems weird to post a recipe for stir fry, since it’s just a bunch of veggies stirred and fried in some oil and then added to noodles or rice or whatever. Instead, here are the ingredients in the order in which they went into the pan:

  • Coconut oil (and as needed two more times to continue the stirring and frying)
  • Onion
  • Carrots
  • Soy sauce (and as needed two more times to deglaze the pan and add flavor)
  • Garlic
  • Hot pepper
  • Minced fresh ginger
  • Button mushrooms
  • Swiss chard
  • Cooked noodles

And then we topped our servings with chili garlic sauce for a little more heat and a nice vinegar-y flavor. I’m usually way too skimpy on the oil in stir fries, which renders them a little sad, but this one had between 1 and 2 tablespoons total, I would guess. You may have noticed that I’ve been including more fat in my diet lately. I still consume less of it than the average person, but since I’ve been exercising more, I’ve been ravenous, so I’m finding ways to sneak a few extra calories in. I will start amping up my plant-based proteins, too, once things calm down and I can do a better job of meal planning.

4 Responses to “Noodles two ways”

  1. Tammy October 27, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Just like one should never grocery shop when hungry, I shouldn’t have visited your blog just now. That first zucchini pasta has my stomach screaming!

    • Brigid October 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Aw, thanks! I could eat zucchini pasta every day of my life.

  2. inherchucks October 28, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Funny…your reasons for coming up with this delicious dish are similar to how I came up with my cherry tomato pesto…desperate times call for desperate measures. And I LOVE it when they turn out yummy 🙂

    Come and add your link to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/10/25/whats-in-the-box-49/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

    • Brigid October 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Ha! There’s a lot of that desperation-style cooking in my life, especially on weekends.

Leave a Reply

