Chili update

24 Oct

Hey all! I’m travelling for a few days, and so I’ve scheduled some posts in advance. I apologize for the lack of real time, but I will be away from my computer. I will keep checking in with my phone to approve and respond to comments, though, so I hope you enjoy the recipes!

I promised an update to X’s Spicy Portobello Chili, so I’m delivering.

As you can see, it doesn’t look too different:

The method is the same, but here are the ingredients we prefer now:

  • 1-1/2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Half a large onion, chopped
  • 4 Portobello mushroom caps, cleaned, de-stemmed, and diced
  • 4 or 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 15 oz canned diced fire-roasted tomatoes (Muir Glen or Trader Joe’s brands are my preference)
  • 2 cups of cooked black beans
  • 2 cups of cooked chickpeas
  • 4 oz diced green chilies
  • 3 or 4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, minced (because we’re crazy!)
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Several sprinklings of freshly ground black pepper

The major changes, as you can see, are more beans, more spice (in the form of chipotle peppers), fire-roasted tomatoes (the flavor is so much better), and no extra water unless needed. We like the thicker consistency so much better. We’ve also discovered that half black beans, half garbanzos — and I always cook them fresh at home now — is our preferred combination, though you can feel free to use your favorites. Another thing I never think to do but that would be tasty is some diced red bell pepper added with the onion.

And since this is not a very full post, I will also present another Tofu Scramble Taco with Chipotle:

The method is the same as my Tofu Breakfast Tacos, except that I used 1/4 of an onion instead of the scallion, a chopped chipotle pepper and a little juice from a can of tomatoes instead of salsa, no nutritional yeast, doubled the tofu (and used five corn tortillas) to serve two people, and added some roasted zucchini to the top. Still easy and delicious, though I did miss the noochy flavor a bit.

That’s it. Hope everyone’s having a happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

