The mother of invention

2 Oct

I mentioned on Sunday that we’re fridge shopping for as much of this week as we can, though I know I’ll have to buy some things by the end of the week. I threw together a couple of easy meals from my pantry and fridge for yesterday, and they came out really tasty, so I thought I’d share.

For lunch on Monday (and probably every other day this week — it’s huge!) was a basic black bean soup:

(Modeled atop my messy desk for authenticity.)

All I did was saute the rest of the red onion in olive oil, then add three cloves of garlic and three of the hot peppers. After a few seconds, I used the one measly potato that was left (chopped, of course) and heated everything for a minute. Then I added the can of diced tomatoes, the rest of the jar of salsa (which was only about 1/4 cup max), one chipotle pepper, a can’s worth of water, the rest of the black beans (SO MANY — probably three cups), cumin, salt, and pepper. It simmered for about 30 minutes, and when it was nice and thick, I stuck it in the fridge. To serve, I topped with about 1/4 of an avocado and a handful of multi-grain chips that were left at the office. Easy and delicious!

Dinner was similarly low-maintenance:

Barley (cooked in the rice cooker and then topped with pepper and nutritional yeast), sauteed Swiss chard (cooked in olive oil and garlic and topped with salt and pepper), and some of the white beans (reheated with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary and then topped with crumbled fried sage). If you started with precooked, leftover beans and grains, it would have been on the table in 15 minutes, including chopping. The most exciting part is that I cooked up my chard stems as well as the leaves for the first time, and the result was really tasty. They got tender really fast.

Fingers crossed I end up with something great for dinner tonight! As of right now, I have no idea what to make, but it’ll involve more of the white beans for sure.

Leave a Reply

