Fridge shopping

30 Sep

We didn’t end up cooking much this week for various reasons, so today I decided to meal plan based on what we have in the kitchen. I don’t know it’ll last the whole week, but I’m interested to find out. Here’s what we have:
20120930-101436.jpg

-Whole pots of cooked black and white beans
-Three Armenian cucumbers
-A ton of regular cucumbers that need to be turned into pickles
-Summer squash
-Three Japanese eggplants
-A butternut squash
-Half a honeydew
-Half an avocado
-Garlic, onions and hot peppers
-A pound of potatoes
-One banana
-Fresh ginger
-Fresh sage, parsley, and basil
-Half a container of shiitake mushrooms
-Five corn tortillas
-Red and white wine
-Sourdough starter
-One slice of sourdough bread
-Coconut milk
20120930-102640.jpg

-One can of tomatoes
-Chipotle peppers
-Uncooked barley and black rice
-Oils (olive, coconut, toasted sesame)
-Vinegars (balsamic and white)
-Baking stuff (flours, cocoa powder, baking powder and soda, etc)
-Nuts (cashew, pecans, and almonds)
-Basic condiments (Dijon, ketchup, barbecue sauce, salsa, soy sauce, spices, etc.)

20120930-102826.jpg

I am thinking a Mexican-style scramble with home fries for brunch and a Veganomicon butternut/white bean dish for dinner. Tomorrow’s lunch will probably be black bean soup, and I’m thinking a barley/mushroom main for dinner. And maybe pizza later in the week? I’m not sure, but I’m excited to have the challenge!

And now back to the Jets/Niners game.

One Response to “Fridge shopping”

  1. Ms. L-P October 5, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I love doing this. Some of my favorite meals have come out of “fridge” shopping. I’ve been trying to really do this more since my family and I have been trying to save money while I’m on unpaid maternity leave. Keep up the fun blogging!

Leave a Reply

