Meal planning with the CSA

18 Aug

I decided to try out a CSA. I briefly did a produce share from a coop back in a former life, and I remember enjoying the surprise and trying to figure out what to cook. They tend to be so expensive, though, so in recent years, I’ve just shopped around at the farmers markets. Then I found the South Central Farmers CSA this week and decided to give it a whirl. Our first pick-up is tomorrow, and I won’t be 100% sure of my haul until then, but here is a tentative list of my share contents:

  • Blue Kale
  • Chard
  • Armenian Cucumber
  • Parsley
  • Basil or Mint
  • Yellow Patty Pan Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Beets
  • Valencia Oranges
  • Avocados
  • Honey Dew
  • Watermelon

Who has great ideas for meals this week based on the above? I’m thinking this salad would be a good use for the cucumber and mint (plus the remaining dill in my fridge). Otherwise I’m a little stumped, especially with the beets, for which there is a note that says “it is the end of the crop…may be a litle tough…great for sautes!” I’m thinking maybe a version of this dish for the beets and chard.

What would you do with the above fruits and veggies? I would really love your feedback as I meal plan!

4 Responses to “Meal planning with the CSA”

  1. Tammy August 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    I use any and all of those in smoothies with other things like frozen bananas or other fruit. I love to shred both squash and beets (separately) and make patties of them. It makes a great side or main dish if you’re vegetarian.

    • Brigid August 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      I love the patty idea! I will probably do that for my husband’s lunches this week. Thank you!

  2. Ashley H (@SouthnPurpleVeg) August 19, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I would agree with the salad idea’s, you could do avocado & kale salad. I would even grilled some of the vegetables or satueed them and put them over some type of grain.

    • Brigid August 19, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Ooo, yeah, avocado and kale sounds great together. I wish I was able to grill in my apartment, but it’s against the lease. I really should get one of those indoor George Foreman-type appliances.

Leave a Reply

