Blend no more

13 Aug

Well, Sunday prep day was off to a good start. I bought all my groceries (from the farmers market, Ralph’s, and then a quick jaunt to Trader Joe’s). I made soup for lunches, even though it was approximately 9 billion degrees in the apartment. I even made a batch of iced tea and remembered to freeze my banana AND soak my oats for this morning’s smoothie. Then today started well enough. I got up and went for a run/walk (which wasn’t my best performance, but it was better than sleeping in). I soaked my black beans and my cashews. And then I was ready to make the Overnight Oats Smoothie when . . . my blender went on strike. I have no idea what’s wrong with it beyond the whole it-not-blending thing. It’s probably the motor, but it was definitely still turning, so maybe it’s the blades? I have no idea. Tonight I will see what I can do to repair it using my non-skills. I really need that little beast this week, too, for seven freaking meals. Blargh. Let me just advise all of you not to try making the aforementioned smoothie with an immersion blender. It was chunky. 😦

At least the soup turned out magically delicious:

Image

I added a whole package of tempeh this time and reduced the potatoes slightly (closer to 1 lb than 1.25). It came out thicker than last time, though it is slightly less tangy, but still a wonderful lunch. I may or may not have brought the entire pot with a massive spoon to work:

ImageWhatever.

If I don’t manage to fix the blender, I guess I will attempt to make salad dressing — involving raw cashews — with the immersion blender, too. Excuse me while I shed a tear.

4 Responses to “Blend no more”

  1. offlogic August 13, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    You still hear the motor? Fire it up without the carafe: do you see the disk on top move? If not, you’ve lost the gear-box and it’s time to head to the thrift store. No fixee!

    • Brigid August 14, 2012 at 9:53 am #

      Mine won’t run the motor unless the carafe is attached. I did try running it with just water in it, and it works fine. It just can’t handle anything chunky at all, so I think the motor is slowly (well, quickly now) dying. Is that fixable, or should I just shell out for a new one? Thanks!

      • offlogic August 14, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

        Well, unless you want to get involved with replacing the motor’s carbon “brushes” (might find them at Ace Hardware in the little yellow drawers), give it a spritz of WD-40 and a pater noster… then get a new blender.

      • Brigid August 15, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

        Sad. It sounds like you’re right. I will see if I can find something at Goodwill.

Leave a Reply

