Lunch black hole

10 Aug

One of my favorite things about living in LA is the food truck scene. Food trucks are hardly novel at this point, but man, does my city have some incredibly delicious ones. I’m fortunate to work two blocks from the LA headquarters of a major advertising agency, and they pretty much have mobile lunch options five days a week. It’s awesome, especially considering that the rest of my work area is a food black hole, especially on days when my husband has the car.

This week, a new one rolled onto the lot — so new that I can’t even find a website for it. It was called Hang 10 Tacos, and they had a menu full of street tacos. I decided to go with the taco salad, since it sounded like a whole lot of perfection. For $8.50, I got this beast:

Before you is lettuce topped with black beans, guacamole, roasted corn, pico de gallo, their schmancy potato concoction, and tortilla strips all tossed in a creamy dill sauce. I added a few drops of Cholula on top. This was incredibly delicious, and I ate every single bite. I loved it so much that I’m recreating it for dinner next week.

We also have a sweet old man who comes into the office at exactly noon every day with a cooler full of standard lunch fair (salads, soups, sandwiches, etc.) made by a catering company. I don’t usually buy anything from him, but I had $9 to my name and no car on Tuesday, so I went to see what he had. For only $6, I got this Korean noodle dish:

It was glass noodles with cabbage, carrots, bok choy, tofu and “Korean spices” (I definitely detected sesame oil and probably soy sauce, but I’m not sure what else). It was surprisingly good and filling. Thank you, Rainbow Man!

What kind of lunch options exist around your workplace?

Leave a Reply

