Vegging out at Lolla 2012

8 Aug

This year was my second trip to Lollapalooza with my husband (who was then my boyfriend) and his brother. It was a great trip on many levels, in part because I accepted the job that brought us to LA (over the phone, at a gas station somewhere in Kansas, probably). Here’s my recap of last year’s experience.

Here was my musical experience in 2012:

Loved: Trampled By Turtles (times two! Saw them at the festival and at the Double Door), Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, First Aid Kit, Florence + the Machine, Of Monsters and Men, The Shins, M83, Tallest Man on Earth, Red Hot Chili Peppers

Liked and/or Suspect I Would Have Loved If I’d Heard More of Them: Neon Indian, Sigur Ros, Black Keys, Washed Out, Toro Y Moi

Meh: Tame Impala, Jack White (please don’t kill me), White Panda

Sadly Missed Due to Weather or Schedule Conflict: Alabama Shakes, Santigold, Bombay Bicycle Club, Polica, The Devil Makes Three, Twin Shadow, Kaskade

And now, onto the food. I didn’t capture every bite, but here are some highlights:

This falafel wrap from Goose Island Brewpub was HANDS DOWN the best thing I ate at the festival. It had falafel, cabbage, cucumbers, tzatziki, shredded carrots, cucumber, and some kind of hot sauce on a pita. It was mouth-watering. I had it twice but could have easily eaten three times that many.

A close runner-up for most delicious was this mouth-watering dish of cold sesame noodles (which I covered in sri racha) from Rock ‘n Roll Noodle Company. So, so flippin’ good.

On the dessert front, I thoroughly enjoyed this little gem from Puffs of Doom. It was a raspberry lemonade cream puff. Very refreshing.

And then there was this monster of a sundae from Windsor Ice Cream Shoppe. It was the Lolla Sundae: ice cream and brownies topped with hot fudge, whipped cream, and a cherry in a waffle bowl. Insane! And I ate every bite.

Above is a bonus meal, Monday’s lunch from Oysy Sushi on Michigan Ave, minus the miso soup. I went with the vegetarian lunch special, and it was MASSIVE! I couldn’t eat most of it.

That’s my trip in a culinary nutshell. I am now back to the daily grind and, hopefully soon, I’ll even make it to the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

