Dinner on the fly

12 Jul

Last night, we made another on-the-fly, his-and-her dinner. This time the centerpiece was black bean burgers. I don’t have a formal recipe, but it went something like this:

  • Use your hands to mash and smash one can of rinsed black beans, half a container of chopped mushrooms, enough corn meal (maybe 1/4 cup?) to bring it together, and a few dashes of cumin and cayenne.
  • Form into four patties.
  • Heat a little olive oil in a saute pan over medium.
  • Add patties and cook for five-ish minutes on each side until they are browned.

He ate his two somewhat traditionally, on buns with lettuce, tomato, roasted corn, and barbecue sauce:

I cut one in half and ate it taco-style on two blue corn tortillas with roasted corn and barbecue sauce, plus a salad:

The verdict: good and SO easy. The latter was a necessity, given how tired and hungry I was last night. I saved the fourth patty for today’s lunch, which I will share tomorrow.

I was disappointed in the sauce, though. During my last trip to the grocery store, I grabbed some Stubb’s Spicy Bar-B-Q Sauce because the ingredients were decent (vegetarian and HFCS-free). The flavor, however, was very artificial-tasting. I enjoyed the kick, but I can’t quite put my finger on the ingredient that made it taste so plastic. I would not buy it again.

Anyway, the dinner made me glad I stocked up on cheap organic black beans at Trader Joe’s over the weekend. I had not planned this meal in advance at all, so hurrah for quick thinking.

Leave a Reply

