Tea with the queen

19 Jun

Good morning! I started my day with a booty-kicking courtesy of the Fitnessista. I did Workout 1 and will do the HIIT component this evening after work. I just couldn’t drag myself out of bed any earlier than 6:45 to get my sweat on, so the fun will continue.

I showed you breakfast yesterday (and had the same thing today, except that I tucked the tofu scramble into corn tortillas this morning for a little extra oomph). I was going to show you lunch, too, but it became cheese pizza . . . times four. Yikes. I can just never say no to a free lunch.

Dinner, however, was perfectly healthy and delicious:

As I mentioned, on the menu was a variation on this soup. Here are the changes I made:

  • Used spray olive oil instead of the 1 1/2 tablespoons
  • Swapped in one yellow squash and one round zucchini for the medium zucchini
  • Bean cooking liquid and water instead of vegetable broth
  • Freshly cooked chickpeas instead of white beans, plus I almost doubled the amount (and I have to note that my husband cooked the garbanzos successfully without murdering either them or one of our pots)
  • Rainbow chard instead of baby spinach (I don’t like how wilty spinach gets in soup)

I followed the same directions, though, and kept the most important parts: lemon juice, zest, and the mint leaves. Seriously, this soup can’t live without ’em. They take what is a fairly hearty soup and transform it into something bright and enjoyable, even on the hottest summer night. It also put my husband into a coma:

(Here’s hoping he doesn’t read this post!)

After a run to the grocery store, I decided to snuggle up on the couch with a book and a bedtime snack. You know what’s better than tea in a mug? Tea in a cup — with the queen:

As a belated wedding present, my boss gave me a set of two teacups from 1953 that were released to celebrate Elizabeth II’s coronation. Pretty sweet, huh? I made a full pot of tea from fresh mint leaves and chamomile blossoms, both purchased from the farmers market. It was delicious and soothing, especially paired with this chocolate — times two pieces.

How do you relax after a long day? Tea and a book are my perfect combination.

Leave a Reply

