Recipe round-up

16 Jun

I read tons of food blogs, as the rest of you probably do, too. Due to several factors (mainly being crazy-busy and lazy in the evenings), I haven’t cooked as much lately, so my brain is stockpiling recipes from around the web that I’m dying to try. So, instead of spending the day in the kitchen, I’m sharing my list with all of you:

Indian-spiced Chickpea Cakes from the Fitnessista

OMG YES. This recipe has my lunch written all over it.

Chocolate Swirl Buns from Smitten Kitchen.

My mouth, it waters. This recipe would be a snap to veganize — plus it would give me a reason to bust out the KitchenAid stand mixer I got for the wedding.

(Can’t link to this picture.)
Key Lime Crumb Cake from Vanilla Sugar Blog.

I have a new co-worker who is allergic to chocolate and nuts (the horror!), so I had planned to make (a vegan, nut-free) version of these this week, but the best-laid plans sometimes fail. They will happen, however!

Hot Apple Pie Smoothies and Popsicles from Peas and Thank You. The recipe itself sounds lovely, but what really got my attention was the idea of turning a smoothie into popsicles. It’s ingenious! Why didn’t I ever think of that? Plus, it’s a much more diabetic-friendly way to give my hunny something sweet, especially as summer approaches.

Basil Pesto Pasta with Zucchini and Mint from Real Simple.

This recipe makes me even sadder not to have a food processor. I may still attempt this one using my immersion blender (I have already deeply failed at making pesto in my regular blender), but I think I’ll have to hold out for when I finally bite the bullet and make a purchase.

And this one is not recipe-related but it is big food-blogger news: Caitlin had her baby! I’m a huge fan of her blog and have enjoyed watching along with her pregnancy. Go send some good wishes to the proud parents.

What’s been on your to-make list lately?

Leave a Reply

