Back?

27 May

So that was an unplanned hiatus, and for that, I apologize. However, the break did give me a chance to reflect — namely on why I took it totally out of the blue. The answer was less than happy.

I realized that, though my relationship with food has been much better in the last three years, it continues to be obsessive. I thought channeling my food thoughts into this blog would help, would give me a positive outlet for a formerly destructive relationship. I still think it can, but the truth is that, of late, it hasn’t. I can’t seem to walk a good path with what I consume: it’s been a cycle of over-strictness followed by eating junk and then feeling guilty. This cycle is bad for anyone, but especially for those of us with histories of disordered eating.

All that said, don’t be worried for me. I am a far cry from my college days. I promise that I know myself well enough now to seek help if things got that way. I just haven’t been respecting myself recently, mostly due to stress. I am currently working to rectify the situation.

So, while I strive to find the balance, I will post here intermittently. I thank all of you who still pop by, and I look forward to getting things in order.

In the meantime, here’s a peek at the very start of my Sunday:

20120527-085736.jpg
Tea and cherries. A real breakfast will follow as soon as I get to the farmer’s market!

Leave a Reply

