Lunching out

30 Jan

I apologize for my brief hiatus, but basking in the glow of my new engagement was something I couldn’t pass up. We’re actually getting married in 26 days, so this period will be very short-lived. I’ll be a married lady before I know it!

Anyway, I do have some foodie pics to share.

I was naughty last week and didn’t cook a single lunch for myself. So much for saving money!

On Monday, it was Rainbow for a juice (apple-cucumber-ginger), lentil vegetable soup, and a small salad (lettuce, mushrooms, carrots, beats, red bell pepper, sunflower seeds, and Follow Your Heart Vegan Lemon Herb dressing.

Wednesday brought me a delicious Yo Amigo Taco Salad from Native Foods Cafe: “A blend of romaine, cabbage, Native Taco Meat, and salsa fresca. Topped with corn, green onion, cilantro, and tortilla chip croutons. Served with our original creamy chipotle dressing on the side.” I added avocado for a buck. This salad was huge and heavenly and took me almost an hour to eat. Normally I consume my meals with the abandon of a ravenous wolf, but this salad was so dense and filling that I had to slow down. I couldn’t even eat all of it!

On Friday, I went back to my friend Rainbow for some hot-bar action. More than half a pound of roasted Brussels sprouts, tofu chili, and a Hansen’s root beer. I brought some fine aromatics into the office, fo’ sho’.

Um, yeah, Fatburger fat fries may have been dinner one migrained night.

There has been plenty of tea, too, with happy messages. So timely. 🙂

I was back to the kitchen this weekend, however, so I’ll have some homemade yummies and a recipe to share starting tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Lunching out”

  1. heather January 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Brigid!
    First of all, many congrats on your engagement! I have been reading along on your blog but for some reason I’ve had problems getting my comments to publish. I’m gonna try one last time!
    Anyway, I’m so happy for you! Sounds like things are really falling into place. That is awesome! And I always enjoy hearing about your food adventures. I’m slowly trying to get myself and my family back on track. I was really impressed by your post the other day about your stepmother.
    Ok, before I write a novel…Im gonna see if this comment will post! congrats! heather

    • Brigid January 30, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

      It came through this time, Heather! Sorry the blog’s been giving you trouble. Thank you so much for your good wishes. I couldn’t be more excited! I appreciate your positive feedback on my stepmom post, too. It was difficult to write, but I always feel better when I put things like that out there, and I hope it resonated with people.

Leave a Reply

