Quinoa Mushroom Soup

12 Jan

I made soup. A lot of soup. I intended to end up with four servings, but the result was at least six. Maybe eight. It’s hard to tell, since I’ve only consumed three bowls, but I expect Mr. X will do away with the rest soon.

I had planned to make taco salad for my lunches and barley mushroom soup for dinners, but X decided he really wanted the salad, so I switched ’em. Because I’m trying to save money on my grocery bill, I decided to use quinoa instead of barley because I already had some in the house. I also subbed green split peas for another type of bean to eliminate soaking and pre-cooking time. I also cooked the whole thing in my slow cooker, which was an excellent choice. The result was earthy and surprisingly filling. I will add a picture when my memory card stops misbehaving.

Quinoa Mushroom Soup

  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 3/4 cup green split peas, rinsed and picked over
  • 1 container shiitake mushrooms
  • 2 ribs of celery, chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 to a whole bunch of fresh parsley, roughly chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Rinse what needs to be rinsed, and chop what needs to be chopped. Throw everything but the salt, pepper, and parsley into the slow cooker with five cups of water. Set it on high for about three hours, or until the split peas have softened. Add the parsley and reduce to low for as long as you like. I did about three hours. Add salt and pepper (and more thyme, if desired) to taste and serve.

Makes 100,000 6 servings.

The soup is warm, thick, comforting, and incredibly healthy. Notice that there is no fat at all. You could add tomato paste or other veggies, but I loved how basic and satisfying it was with just the thyme and delicate veggie flavors shining through. Feel free to make it on the stove. I would guess that you should simmer it for about an hour. Serve it and savor the homey, happy taste.

Leave a Reply

