Putting it off

4 Jan

I am a Virgo and a procrastinator. Does that make sense? Part of the problem is that I work really well under pressure, so sometimes I push myself to that point to accomplish things that don’t really appeal to me. I will be the first to admit that this system blows. It causes stress and, worse really, it spirals out of control, creating a never-ending and never-improving cesspool of crap I don’t want to do.

Today’s 31 Days to Better Health post over at the Vegan Epicurean is all about breaking this nasty cycle. She asks, What Should You be Doing that You Have Been Avoiding? The first part of the exercise is to write a list of however many things you know you need to tackle. Here are a few of mine:

1. Get my finances in order. The move to LA has totally messed up my previously mostly organized financial situation. To be honest, I took a pay cut for this job, and that coupled with the increase in cost of living has left my bank account weepy.

2. Do more yoga. I used to look forward to my lunchtime yoga. I haven’t done it once since I moved. I know I’d be happier and healthier if I re-committed.

3. Something involving my car that I’m afraid to post until it’s actually done for fear the man might come bitchslap me.

4. Reduce my dairy intake. I can feel the difference physically and mentally when I eat dairy too much, but I’ve been in a gross cycle for the past year almost. No more.

5. Start cleaning my apartment on a regular schedule. For the first time ever, I genuinely love my home, and I want to keep it comfortable. I despise housework, but I know I’ll be glad for having done it.

6. Be a better friend. I mentioned this goal yesterday, but it’s something that’s been weighing on my mind over the past several months. I want to be the best friend I can be.

7. Get back on a diabetes-friendly eating plan. I never quite got the traction on this goal last year like I wanted, and we’ve both been eating terribly since the move.

8. Let go. This goal is not particularly measurable, but it is meaningful to me. I have trouble forgiving and forgetting, which makes moving on difficult. I don’t want to be that person any more.

9. Clear my name at the library. Yeah, didn’t take long for me to rack up fines. Bad Brigid. I miss reading, so it’s time to get myself back on the nice list.

The next part of the challenge is: “Once you are satisfied that your list is long enough please choose one item in your list to work on this week.”

I am going to commit to #2. Do more yoga. Since I’m currently doing none, “more” is even one time, and I will be totally fine with that. So, by midnight on Saturday, I will have done at least one yoga session. A 20-minute podcast is totally fine by me. I feel more relaxed just thinking about it.

Do you have any goals for the week? Share them here, and let’s keep each other accountable!

One Response to “Putting it off”

  1. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) January 7, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    I love that you put your goals out for everyone! There really is nothing like accountability is there?

    We share the same goal of forgiving, that is a difficult one for me too. I will be writing a post about it later this month in the better health series. Let’s hope we can both make progress on this one. 🙂

    talk with you later,
    Ali

Leave a Reply

