Thanksgiving happened

30 Nov

I wrote a post about the detox I’m trying this week and then didn’t share it for one good reason: a disgusting migraine reared its nasty head, and I ended up consuming four of the five things I’m supposed to be avoiding. What is it they say about good intentions and the path to Hell? Oh well. My body should be back to normal tomorrow, so I’ll start again.

I had a nice holiday with friends in Bakersfield. There was much food (including a fabulous vegan and gluten-free mac & cheese recipe I hope to share once I extricate it from Jessica’s brain) and wine and football and fun. We did a clothing swap, and I came home with some great new stuff. Yet the only surviving photo of me from the weekend is this blurry monstrosity:

Yes, I’m modeling a pair of shorts overalls that, no, I did not take home, but I’m pretty sure I owned in the fifth grade. You are welcome.

Also, I’m running my first 5k on Sunday. Eek! Excited! Nervous!

I’m getting back into the cooking-and-eating-and-photographing rhythm, so there will be a legit food post soon. I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving happened”

  1. Heavy Hedonist December 28, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I think we all get sidelined by our very enthusiasm, sometimes. Hope your headaches become as rare as a great vegetarian entree in a 2-star restaurant. Liking the blog… Peace, Mari

    • Brigid January 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Ha! I love your analogy. 🙂

Leave a comment