Workout fuel

13 Oct

I am currently testing the limits of my sanity – and my physical endurance.

I don’t purport to be a fitness blogger, which is good, considering how out of shape I am. I’m always trying to get myself into a regular routine, so I do post about fitness here and there (mostly there; occasionally here). But, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, it’s far from the norm. I’m certainly no Fitnessista or Caitlin (though maybe someday I will approximate their exercising awesomeness). The man I live with isn’t exactly an Olympian either, so we spend a lot of sedentary time together.

Well, that changed. He announced that he wanted to begin working out, and specifically he wanted to try a cycling class. That scared the bejeesus out of me. I always found riding Marcello to be a strain, so a 50-minute class full of taught bodies jumping and sprinting and cranking up the resistance sounded like torture. Mr. X, however, was sure it would be doable.

For the record, I was right. It hurt, friends. It hurt. And our legs weren’t the problem – it was the combination of butt-mangling seats and nauseated tummies that did us both in.

Of course, we returned the following week. And the week after. Yep, we are gluttons for punishments who now attend voluntary torture cycling class every Tuesday and Thursday, with our padded seat covers in tow.

Now there’s also the Saturday Pilates class in which we’d like to become regulars . . . and I have, for some heinous reason, agreed to join a Couch to 5K program with some of my coworkers. This will be the fourth time I’ve attempted the program, which I’ve yet to complete. Is now the time? I have no idea. I can only say we have our first group run next Wednesday and, well, I r scurred.

A recurring theme with all my cardio is the stomach upset. I’m either nauseated from eating too much or too little, which is hindering my performance. I’m sure my wheezing is, too, but I’m working on that. This weekend, when I plan next week’s meals, I will make a concerted effort to plan better, but at the moment, I’m a little stumped.

What’s your favorite workout fuel? I know I’m not burning enough calories to consider a protein powder. I am trying to find a vegan replacement for yogurt, my former go-to pre-run munch, and haven’t sampled any of the dairy-free versions. I know potassium helps me prevent side stitches, so bananas and potatoes are on the mental list. This week, I’m turning to a banana, half a whole-wheat bagel, and a smidge of peanut butter in the afternoon following a light lunch.

Something similar was dinner Tuesday night, ‘cause we were tired and, well, too nauseated to eat anything heavy:

Bagel with peanut butter and a smoothie – enjoyed in bed while watching Jeopardy! Lazy nerds. The smoothie was one banana, ½ cup frozen mango, ½ cup frozen strawberries, and enough hazelnut milk to puree the whole thang. We’ve been craving smoothies all week!

Send me your vegan workout fuel ideas! I’m a girl on the run (and the spin) who needs to get herself together.

4 Responses to “Workout fuel”

  1. Heather Blackmon (@betterwithveg) October 13, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    This is a bit random, but toast with nooch/oil mixture has been sitting very well in my tummy as an afternoon snack before a run. Maybe it’s the extra B12 kick that I enjoy before heading out the door? 🙂

  2. Lauren October 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Mmmmm…gotta love a good smoothie! The only part I hate is cleaning out the blender afterwards 🙂 As for workout fuel, I love pb sandwiches but sometimes I just grab a Clif bar…quick & easy!

  3. caroline m. October 20, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    i run pretty regularly and i think green smoothies are the best! my recipe is: 1/2 frozen banana, 2 handfuls of spinach, pinch of cinnamon, an ice cube or two, and soy/hemp/rice/almond milk. blend that baby up! you can add different frozen fruits, too. i normally add a spoonful of chia for omega-3s, protein and fiber. maybe a little soy yogurt if i have some. enjoy! 🙂

  4. Suzie October 21, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    What works best for me is to eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (on whole wheat bread) a few hours before I work out. DO NOT eat this and then workout within 2 hours. If you want to eat something closer to the workout, an apple, pear, or banana works. Also, maybe a handful of almonds. Way to go on working out!

Leave a Reply

