Review: Green Peas ****

3 Oct

To kick off Vegan MoFo, X and I decided to head to a local place that serves vegan breakfast items. After some research, we settled on Green Peas, partly because they were near our morning errands, partly because of the favorable review on The Actor’s Diet, and largely because of the prices ($6.95? Yes, please.). Their website is down, so we called first to make sure they still exist, and thankfully they do.

The place is super cute, I must say. It’s also really close to work – dangerous!

I started with coffee and he opted for freshly squeezed orange juice:

My beverage was just the way I like it: really delicious, dark and oily without any burnt or bitter flavor. It was perfect. The OJ was divine. It was sweet and fresh and lip-smacking good.

Anyway, it was tough to choose from their robust menu, but we both ended up leaping at the Vegan Breakfast Burrito #2:

It is described as containing: “Garden chicken, potatoes, grill onions, red bell peppers, daiya cheddar cheese and spinach on wheat tortilla” (spelling and capitalization theirs). Breakfast items come with your choice of potatoes or fruit. We both opted for the latter, as you can see. I’m not a huge melon fan, other than that of the water variety, but I decided to chomp down on the honeydew this time and was pleasantly surprised. I skipped the cantaloupe, however. I would like to blame the Listeria outbreak, but the truth is that I really, really dislike the stuff. I loved how tiny the pieces were, and definitely how perfectly fresh they tasted.

The burrito came with a side of unidentified spicy sauce that was the love child of salsa and a sun-dried tomato sauce. Delightful. In all, the burrito was not my absolute favorite vegan brunch item of all time, but it was quite good. I think the boy liked it even more than I did. I’m not sure if it was the Gardein chicken or what, but something just didn’t send me quite all the way over the moon. All that said, I will certainly be back to try some of the other offerings.

In fact, I was excited enough by the tantalizing menu of vegan sandwiches that I returned for lunch today. It may be true that my Sunday-night laziness, which prevented me from preparing my lunch, was in part spurred by the possibility of hitting Green Peas up at the noontime hour. That, and I had a hideous migraine yesterday.

Anyway, I decided to try something that I wouldn’t normally order and landed on the Rolling Steak Sandwich. It is described as containing, “Gardein steak, Grilled onions, cilantro, spinach, avocado, mozzarella daiya cheese, and vegenaise” (capitalization/spelling theirs).

As you can see, I opted for house salad on the side. The other options are soup and roasted potatoes. Here’s another shot of the sandwich:

This was a very tasty combination. I’m not usually a fan of soy cheeses – yes, including Daiya – but I loved the vegan mozzarella on this concoction. I would go so far as to say that it totally made the meal. The avocado was wonderful, as always, too. I think I actually prefer the fake beef to Saturday’s faux chicken, which surprised me. However, Gardein products are gluteny, and my stomach isn’t feeling 100% at the moment. Next time I hit up Green Peas, I’ll have to try a tofu- or veggie-based meal instead. Not their fault, obviously. My stomach just doesn’t like vital wheat gluten very much.

And the salad was awesome. It was basic – just greens and shredded carrots – but the garlicky balsamic dressing was wonderful. I will definitely eat it again.

Rating: ***** for veggie options and *** for deliciousness.

Green Peas is at 4437 Sepulveda Boulevard in Culver City.

2 Responses to “Review: Green Peas ****”

  1. MeShell October 3, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    That place looks really cute!

  2. Caitlin @ Vegetarian in the City October 7, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    that salad looks pretty crazy!! i also hate soy cheese haha. everyone seems to like Daiya but it tastes like it isn’t supposed to be used as food haha

Leave a Reply

