Waffle Sunday #1

2 Oct

The house we moved into came with a waffle iron, which was really exciting. I’ve never made waffles at home before, so I jumped at the chance to find an excuse to use it. Enter Sunday football. I’m not much of a sports fan, so a day of ball-playing is a good enough excuse for me to take to the kitchen. Enter my first vegan waffle attempt:

My love is a big New York Giants fan, so I swung with a red-and-blue theme. My recipe is based on one from Mama Pea, but with my own spin.

X’s Giant Waffles

  • 1 1/2 cup flour (I used a combination of unbleached white and whole wheat pastry)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 c. non-dairy milk (less approximately 1 tablespoon)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (the real stuff)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh mixed berries

Preheat your waffle iron and spray with oil.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder and salt.

In a liquid measuring cup, combine milk, maple syrup and oil. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ones and stir until just combined. Be careful not to overmix.

If you have a large Belgian waffle maker, pour about 1/4 of the batter in. Sprinkle 1/4 cup of berries on top. Ours was a mixture of blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries. Cook according to your maker’s settings. Mine beeps. Continue until you’ve used all the batter, remembering to spray the waffle maker each time. Serve and enjoy.

Makes four big-a$$ waffles.

We topped ours with real maple syrup and served some meat-less sausage alongside. Oh yeah, and we enjoyed these:

Homemade mimosas! Easiest recipe ever:

(Wo)Manly Mimosas

  • 10 oranges (or about 3ish cups of pre-squeeze orange juice)
  • One bottle of prosecco or other white sparkly vino, chilled

Juice your oranges. We have this really awesome old-school juicer that I’ll show you sometime. Fill Champagne flutes about halfway or so with juice, then top with chilled prosecco. Enjoy!

All together now:

Heaven.

And now I leave you with this very important video. (Fast forward to 6:15 if you just want to hear the amazing song.)

3 Responses to “Waffle Sunday #1”

  1. frugalfeeding October 3, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    That is exciting! I had my first ever waffle last week, I’d love to try making one!

  2. Jojo October 3, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    Very nice! I love that we’re both using our partners love of football as an excuse to make some awesome food!

  3. Lou October 7, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    You’ve totally got the right idea – waffles and mimosas? That’s my idea of a good time!

Leave a Reply

