Review: Ekkamai Thai Restaurant ****1/2

28 Sep

Very shortly after we moved into our LA home, we decided to explore Culver City, where I work. We were hungry and feeling adventurous, so our empty tummies led us to a Thai place nearby. ‘Twas called Ekkamai.

Their menu is very broad and diverse, and it took us a long time to make our decisions. We started with the Veggie Fresh Rolls, which came with a wonderful peanut sauce.

The veggies were fresh and crunchy, the tofu had a wonderful texture, and that sauce was delectable. In fact, we had to get a second helping of it. Yum.

My attractive dining companion got a dinner special, which came with Tom Yum soup as a starter:

He’s a sweetie and ordered it with tofu so I could sample it. Man was it delicious. It was so tangy and flavorful. I must learn to make it, especially for sick days.

For my entree, I went with the Spicy Mint Noodle (Pad Kee Mao):

Described on the menu as: “Wide flat rice noodles stir-fried with Thai spices, chili, onions, bell peppers, basil leaves, and mint leaves.” Holy. Crap. This tasted like heaven. I mean, seriously. I never thought of putting mint in a stir fry, but I certainly will from now on. It was delectable.

He got Green Curry with Shrimp:

Since it was the aforementioned dinner special, it came with rice, salad and a veggie egg roll. He loved it. I tried the veggie egg roll, which was lovely. The salad was basic but tasty. He loved his entree, but obviously I didn’t sample it.

All in all, we left full, happy, and with leftovers. I call that a success.

Rating: a ***** for veggie options and **** for deliciousness. (See this post for scoring guide.)

Ekkamai Thai Restaurant is at 13223 W. Washington Blvd. in Culver City/Los Angeles. Their hours are 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. seven days a week.

Leave a Reply

