Such great heights

26 Sep

I had one crazy weekend, fo’ sho’.

Let’s backtrack for a moment to Thursday, though. The boy and I decided that our sedentary lifestyle was not doing either of us any favors, so a couple of weeks ago, I signed us up for free seven-day passes to the Y. On Thursday evening, we tried out our first class: cycling with Naomi. Wow. I thought going in that the class would be hard, but I was wrong – it was INSANE. We both looked pretty pathetic compared to the regulars, and we left in a decent amount of physical pain from atrophied out-of-shape muscles and uncomfortable seats. Would we ever endure such torture again? Heck yes. Naomi was awesome, even making us feel like rock stars despite our glaring inadequacies. See you again Tuesday night!

Before I called the work week quits, I met Lynn of The Actor’s Diet for “coffee.” She had Coke; I had tea. Yep, that’s how we roll.

The boy and I had a day of fun scheduled for Saturday, which included a trip to Magic Mountain. Wheeee! Other than the now-defunct (and small) Bell’s, he had never been to an amusement park. I’ve been to a few (I love you, Disneyland) but have always had a crippling fear of roller coasters – more specifically, plunging from extreme heights. When my friend from high school who lives out here suggested a trip to the local Six Flags, we jumped at the chance. First, though, we decided it would be a crazy good idea to rise at 7 a.m. for an 8:00 Pilates class. Um, yeah, you can probably guess how brilliant we felt by 8:55.

We dragged our sore, exhausted bodies to Target afterward to grab breakfast stuff for him (Chobani raspberry yogurt and pineapple – Naomi said the latter was good for the ouchies) and padded bike seats for our next cycling foray. Then it was home to eat (oats for me – I was too deceased to snap a photo, but they were yummy) and get ready for our theme-park day.

We arrived just as the clouds broke and the sun beat down on our tender scalps. Still, the weather was perfect, and I was in such a chipper mood that I agreed to hop on this bastard ride first thing. Did I survive?

Holla! Yeah, I did it, and I liked it. Consider Revolution a gateway drug, er, coaster. The boys were a bit braver than me throughout the day, hopping on everything big and scary.

By the end of the day, though, I willingly rode the Green Lantern – to which I had said an unequivocal “hell no” earlier in the day. Check out the video (not mine, for the record)! I actually can’t wait to go back and wish I’d been able to shell out for season passes, no joke.

The food, however, left something to be desired. I wandered a long way before I found a suitable veggie option: a bean burrito, which I had to tear apart to eat:

The beans were cold. It wasn’t totally disgusting, but neither was it satisfying or tasty. I had to grab an unpictured chocolate shake soon thereafter to avoid a blood sugar crash. I did discover a sit-down restaurant that has veggie burgers on the menu and only costs a little more; that’ll be the plan in the future.

But the day wasn’t about the food (thankfully). It was about the fun and company.

Sunday saw me at a work picnic honoring our volunteers. The spread was wonderful, and my plate featured the following:

A Portobello sandwich with tomato, roasted red peppers and goat cheese; pesto pasta salad; and an amazing green salad with strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, green apple, wheat berries, and raspberry dressing. So, so good. There may have been a brownie or two, too.

I won’t show you a picture of dinner – let’s just say it may or may not have been giving into a month-long craving for sour straws. No, I’m not proud.

When was the last time you faced a fear and loved it?

One Response to “Such great heights”

  1. actorsdiet September 26, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    i haven’t been to magic mountain yet and that has to change – i love theme parks! i grew up going to six flags in nj…

Leave a Reply

