Two health links

26 Jul

I read two different health stories that I wanted to share with you lovely folks. Here’s the first:

1. Rethink the Food Label. I saw this article linked by Michael Pollan on Twitter. In short, it announces the top-three picks in a challenge to redesign food labeling in more user-friendly and intuitive ways. Here’s the winner:

And here’s my favorite, which came in second:

What’s your favorite label?

2. McDonald’s Trims Its Happy Meal. OK, I’m sure no reader of my blog will jump for joy at this article, but do you think it’s a step in the right direction or a band-aid on an open wound? I tend to lean toward the latter. And the question I’m really interested in: how do you feel about toys in kids’ meals? I honestly don’t care one lick; it’s the quality of the food that interests me.

I can’t wait to hear your feedback!

One Response to “Two health links”

  1. Holly July 29, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I used to be very anti-McDonald’s, and I still am when it comes to the love affair most children have with their crappy fried food. That being said, I found it surprisingly easy to eat healthy there the last time I visited. I do a fruit and yogurt parfait with their new maple oatmeal (which is actually quite yummy) and stay far, far away from anything else they have to offer.

Leave a Reply

