Diabetic meal planning

6 Jun

This is the week I get serious about serving diabetic-friendly meals at home. A doctor visit last week saw an increase in his medication, and I just flat-out don’t like it. So, after doing some research, I have set out to prepare foods that are tasty, mostly vegan, and low in carbohydrates. Luckily this effort coincides with my desire to clean up my own eating and save money. Meal planning and cooking certainly helps with both of those goals, too.

First, let me say that I don’t eat a particularly low-carb diet. When I first started trying to follow Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s eating plan, I discovered that I actually have a very difficult time getting enough calories when following a very clean vegan diet. He encourages very little fat and grains and puts a big emphasis on veggies and beans. I tend to agree, but I quickly learned that I cannot physically eat enough raw or cooked vegetables to take in at least 1,200 calories a day. My solution has been more fat (almost entirely olive oil and nut butters) and more grains. I know neither are as healthful as vegetables and legumes, but there are only so many cups a day of raw, crunchy veggies that I can physically eat.

Adapting my style of eating to the needs of a diabetic who requires way more calories a day than I do is proving a big challenge. In no way do I think this week’s meal plan is perfect, but it’s a starting point. If any of you have resources or ideas to share, please do! I’m still very, very much a novice at this whole thing. Without meal planning assistance from his doctor (he’s supposed to get this info at his next appointment in three weeks), I’m winging it and aiming for 10 servings of carbs a day (or 150 grams). Here’s this week’s plan for both of us (I’ll share recipes later this week):

Breakfast

  • For me: Oatmeal (either lazy-girl or overnight oats) with peanut butter, almond milk, banana, and coconut milk creamer – This is just for me since he doesn’t get up terribly long before the lunch hour. 358 calories, 58 grams of carbs, 12 grams of fat, 10 grams of protein, and 7 grams of fiber.

 Lunch

  • For him: Salads (with either spinach or baby romaine) topped with two hard-boiled eggs, toasted cashews and homemade goddess dressing. 402 calories, 19 grams of carbs, 31 grams of fat, 20 grams of protein, and 4 grams of fiber.
  • For me: Burrito bowls with black beans, Portobello mushrooms, red bell pepper, avocado, lettuce, and homemade salsa. 348 calories, 45 grams of carbs, 14 grams of fat, 16 grams of protein, and 18 grams of fiber.

Dinner (for both of us)

  • Two nights: Sautéed Swiss chard, cucumber salad, and red lentils. 372 calories, 34 grams of carbs, 24 grams of fat, 11 grams of protein, and 12 grams of fiber.
  • One night: Breakfast for dinner! Scrambled eggs with yellow squash, tomato, and garlic and breakfast potatoes. 391 calories, 42 grams of carbs, 24 grams of fat, 20 grams of protein, and 6 grams of fiber.
  • One night: dining out at a pizza place. I haven’t figured this out yet!

Snacks

  • Small banana – 93 calories, 24 grams of carbs, 0.5 grams of fat, 1 gram of protein, and 2 grams of fiber.
  • Pineapple – in one cup: 76 calories, 19 grams of carbs, 0.7 grams of fat, 0.6 grams of protein, and 2 grams of fiber.
  • Watermelon – in one cup: 49 calories, 11 grams of carbs, 0.7 grams of fat, 1 gram of protein, and 1 gram of fiber.

Dessert (for both of us – probably once or twice during the week)

  • Vegan Epicurean’s Pumpkin Pie Mousse. 318 calories, 37 grams of carbs, 17 grams of fat, 10 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber.

As you can see, my breakfast and lunch alone go over the carb count I want for him. Today, his total will be 53 from lunch and dinner, leaving him plenty of leeway for snacking on fruit. I haven’t decided if I’ll make the pumpkin mousse tonight or not. We shall see.

Are you a carboholic like me, or do you watch your intake?

Leave a Reply

