Recent eats

22 May

I’ve been failing at the whole blogging-my-meals thing lately, so I thought I’d show you why in this montage post.

First, let’s look at breakfast from the past week:

An Ezekiel 7 Sprouted Grain English muffin slathered with Amy’s vegetarian refried black beans and topped either with salsa or sri racha and nutritional yeast. There was also a banana when I could remember it and tea — always tea.

Next are two lunches. Monday through Wednesday was a variation on this little gem:

A whole wheat tortilla topped with jalapeno-cilantro hummus, carrots, cherry tomatoes, local green onions, nutritional yeast, and local arugula. Delicious, though it was crazy-messy to prepare in the terrible office kitchen. There was also supposed to be avocado, but I got one that was made of rubber, apparently, and it just wouldn’t ripen. Sad.

On Thursday, I mixed it up a bit by making a hummus-dilla: tortilla with hummus, local green onions, nutritional yeast, and sri racha warmed and crisped in the toaster oven. It was awesome. I must make this again soon.

Speaking of my office and tea, I don’t think I mentioned that my department was relocated from the 4th to the 2nd floor. I will have to give a grand tour at some point. (Ha! It’s not that big.) In the meantime, let me introduce you to the most ridiculous thing in probably the entire building: my tea service.

We used to keep the electric kettle and those teas in the kitchen, but we now share with a much larger pool of folks and have less counter space, so everything is in my office against the tranquil blue wall. The four cup-and-saucer sets and the two-tiered platter were flea market steals: $2.50 for the former, and $1.50 for the latter. Insane. And now I feel like Fancy Pants Vance every day. And really the best part is that my tea-drinking partner in crime is next door to me, so when the water is hot, I just knock three times on the wall. Not pictured, and adding to my tea lunacy, is the drawer featuring my personal stash of teas. And to the left of the tea is our coffee stuff: a French press, a grinder, and our favorite Kicking Horse coffee beans. Yee haw.

Anyway, on May 14, the boy and I celebrated four months together. Yes, we actually celebrated the occasion. Why not? It’s the little things. We stayed at a lovely B&B, thanks to my friends at Groupon. For dinner, we decided to enjoy the room rather than go out, so we brought in what you can barely see in the picture below:

Farrell Family Tuscan bread, smoked gouda, camembert, and asiago. Oh my! It was all washed down with a bottle of Piper Heidsieck, my favorite Champagne.

The past week, I was ten kinds of broke, so dinners were scavenged. The first:

Sorry for the bad picture, but that’s yellow squash sauteed with garlic and olive oil mixed with scrambled local eggs, resting atop a bed of arugula, and sprinkled with black pepper and nutritional yeast. It was crazy delicious, I tell you.

And my most exciting success was this baby: whole wheat spaghetti with yellow squash sauteed with garlic and olive oil, Classico spicy tomato basil sauce, and a few more herbs added, all atop a bed of arugula and sprinkled with nutritional yeast. It was flippin’ incredible, I tell you. I try not to buy jarred sauces, but in my days of eating more processed foods, Classico was always my favorite. I had forgotten how cheap it was, too.

So that’s why I haven’t been blogging more lately. This week, I have some tasty foods to share, so expect to see more of me. Happy Sunday!

One Response to “Recent eats”

  1. Emily May 22, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Somehow I always, always, always read that bread as “Ezekiel 25:17.” At some point, I am going to invent a recipe for Ezekiel 25:17 bread. I am fairly sure this will involve bruschetta toppings and arrabiatta sauce….

Leave a Reply

