A return to the market

7 May

Oh readers, I made you promises again on which I didn’t deliver. It’s the farmers market again, I said. I will certainly resume regular posting. Don’t worry!

Lies lies lies. You’ve heard them all before, of course, but that doesn’t make them any less unacceptable. Please, know that I’m sorry from the bottom of my little shriveled heart.

So today, I come bearing beauteous bounty:

I rose bright and early (i.e. 7 a.m.) to get my produce on, and I was not disappointed. Before you are (clockwise from top right):

  • mixed green lettuces ($3)
  • brown eggs for my man ($4.50)
  • arugula ($4)
  • sugar snap peas ($3)
  • green onions ($2)
  • Tidal School Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon ($16)
  • Hardesty Prairie Fire Cheese for my man ($5)
  • strawberries ($4)
  • unpictured: iced tea from the Coffee House on Cherry Street ($2.50)
For a grand total of: $44, or $28 if you subtract the wine. Not too shabby! What shall I do with all the beautiful things? Oh friends, it will involve salads and a hummus wrap. In fact, I can’t say anything else at the moment because it’s 8:30 a.m. and I want to eat my own arm, so telling you about the delightful meals I have planned might kill me. I will (I will!) post about them, though.
I did learn something tragic, though. Cute barista who always sells me my coffee and tea now sports a wedding ring. Oh, sigh. Our hidden forbidden love lives on. Single tear.
If we can get it together, I will have an extra-special farmers market post coming atcha soon. It’s only been in the works for a month, though, so don’t hold your breath.
What’s your favorite farmers market find? Mine will always be purple hull peas. I can’t wait until they return!
3 Responses to “A return to the market”

  1. Holly Embry May 7, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    When you mentioned the iced tea, I was wondering if you saw your sexy barista boy. I’m so sorry he’s off the market. But you looked super cute with the new dude today. And it doesn’t matter what kind of arm candy you’re sporting, anyone would be lucky to have the attention of a rockin’ chick like you.

    Also, I want to steal your sugar snap peas. Do you eat them raw? They’re so perfect and crunchy and delicious when they’re refrigerated and served raw, I don’t know that I could bring myself to cook them.

    • Brigid May 9, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      As sad as it is for the world to lose an attractive single man, I’ll take my cutie over him any day. 😉

      I haven’t decided how I’ll prepare the sugar snap peas other than in a salad. I usually sautee them in a little olive oil and garlic and then top with ginger, but these definitely have a salad destiny.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 9 Market Return Blogs | Tweet Gazette - May 11, 2011

    […] A return to the market Vegging out in T-TownA return to the market. May 7, 2011. Oh readers, I made you promises again on which I didn't deliver. It's the farmers market again, I said. I will certainly resume regular posting. Don't worry Lies lies lies. … […]

Leave a Reply

