Ch-ch-ch-changes

27 Mar

As my last two posts have mentioned, 2011 has seen some major changes to my life. All the transitions ushered in a period of stress, characterized by crying, comfort eating, and – my personal favorite – cold sores. Other than some lingering bad dreams, however, the stress symptoms are starting to dissipate.

Well, except for my eating. I’ve been far from a good little vegan the last eight weeks, but I’ve been working hard for the past week or so to clean house internally. There has been cheese and ice cream and more cheese, but no more. Hence last week’s lentil tacos are not indicative of most of what has been in my body since January. A new leaf, however, is slowly being turned.

A major change has been moving out of an apartment I shared with a fellow vegetarian who loved to cook and into a house with a non-cooking, meat-eating diabetic. Luckily, the new boyfriend is very open-minded about food and will eat (and enjoy) pretty much anything I concoct. However, I am trying very hard now to figure out how to keep a diabetic-friendly kitchen. I’m glad I read Dr. Fuhrman’s Eat to Live last year, because that is certainly helping.

In other news, spring has been taunting us with her presence, though today was certainly not indicative with very chilly temperatures. I suspect, however, that the recent warm days may, in part, be responsible for my elevated mood. The flowerbed in front of our house has had blooming bulbs: hyacinths, daffodils, jonquils and tulips. Only the latter remain now, but their pretty faces have certainly perked me up:

The sunshine — and the puffiness resulting from overindulgence — have led me to believe that it’s time, once again, to try running. Yes, it’s time for yet another stab at the Couch to 5K program. I’ve already completed the first week, and I feel great. I promise this is the real Brigid speaking. I blame the Droid and its free coaching app, in addition to my free Pandora app. No promises that I’ll get through all nine weeks this time, though completing the program would certainly be a ch-ch-ch-change.

I need running music recommendations. What Pandora station should I check out while I pound the pavement? Kate of Fat Ass to Fit Ass recommended Pink. What’s your favorite?

2 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. Kate March 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    I also like the Clash, Kanye and Foo Fighters too. I did my first 10k to the Foo, great running beat.

  2. Mrs. BW March 28, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    MJ all the way!!! Off The Wall has some lovely disco beats!

Leave a Reply

