Snow day and mug-cake perfection

20 Jan

It’s snowing here in T-Town today, and all over the area, too, I’m sure. We have gotten enough snow that my workplace is actually closed. I guess that’s the benefit of working for a nonprofit that offers early childhood education. Here’s a snow shot:

That’s the front of my car. Yes, the photo was taken through a window in my apartment. Did I mention it’s really flippin’ cold outside? I love you people, but I’m not freezing off any body parts to take snow pictures for you.

Anyway, I was already up and showered when the robot voice called to tell me not to drive in, so I did a slightly different spin on my typical breakfast. Voila:

Pumpkin Boatmeal sprinkled with pecans. YUM! I may have to do this from now on. With it, I brewed up some Nutcracker Sweet tea and added a spoonful of homemade almond milk and a pinch of sugar. I don’t normally put such things in my tea, but I was feeling British. I thoroughly enjoyed the flavor combination.

I must also confess to something brilliant that came out of my microwave last night. The play plus work plus various other life stuff has turned me into a ball of stress lately. When that happens, chocolate comes to the rescue. I decided to throw together another quick vegan mug cake last night as my pre-dinner snack (healthy), but I made a couple of variations. Here’s the original recipe I love, and below is what I did.

Brigid’s Vegan, Gluten-Free Mug Cake of Perfection

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons nut milk
  • 2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons vegan sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • Scant 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon (maybe 1/8 teaspoon)
  • 1 tablespoon vegan chocolate chips

Follow the original instructions, adding the cinnamon in with the salt. Also, I just make one jumbo mug cake to enjoy solo. I have no shame. Make sure to sprinkle the chocolate chips on top after pouring the batter into the mug(s). I usually ignore that, but it’s much better if you don’t.

I’ve made many a mug cake tweaking the original recipe, but this one was by far the best. In fact, it was amazing and perfect and moan-inducing. I intended to slather some peanut butter on top, but after the first bite, I knew it would be a mistake. The flavor was spot on and in no need of assistance. I can’t believe the gluten-free version is my favorite variation, but taste buds don’t lie!

I hope it’s less disgustingly cold where you are today.

2 Responses to “Snow day and mug-cake perfection”

  1. Dagmar's momsense February 1, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Oh my word, that sounds and looks lovely 🙂

    Dagmar

  2. Ashley March 15, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    brilliant!

Leave a Reply

