How I spent my Sunday afternoon

10 Jan

I thought this post would be a nice follow-up to the last one on meal planning. Since I know I haven’t been eating well enough lately, I embarked on a large prep-work journey yesterday. The result:

And that doesn’t include the almond milk or the Pumpkin Boatmeal I made later in the day.

Before you are Spicy and Lemony Mushrooms, Pecan Dirty Brown Rice, two containers of my Pro-Immunity Chickpea Noodle Soup (recipe soon), and a Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp (recipe follows). Expect a report on the different dishes soon.

I think I spent about 4.5 hours in the kitchen Sunday, though that’s just an estimate. Not bad for all that yield, especially since it was mostly from-scratch cooking. The best news: I have very little cooking to do this week. At breakfast, all I have to do is reheat a serving of the oatmeal and grab a banana. At lunch, I will reheat some of the soup, rinse my salad greens, and grab an apple. For dinner, I will heat up rice with mushrooms and then roast some broccoli. Dessert will be – yes – reheated crisp.

Let’s go ahead and talk about the crisp. I’ve had strawberries and rhubarb on the brain for a while now. My original intent was to make a pie, but I opted instead for the more immediate gratification of a crisp. This recipe is adapted from one I found online.

Low-ish Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

  • 1 package (about 2 cups) frozen strawberries
  • 1 package (about 2 cups) frozen rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 cup vegan sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons blackstrap molasses
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch

Preheat oven to 350° F. Lightly spray an 8×8” glass baking dish with oil.

In a medium-sized, microwave-safe bowl, heat the frozen fruit in the microwave for two minutes. Stir, and heat for two more minutes. Drain any excess moisture. Now add maple syrup and stir together. Pour into the prepared baking dish.

In another (or the same, whatever) bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients. Spoon crisp mixture over the fruit evenly, so all is covered.

Bake for 30 to 40 minutes until the fruit layer is bubbling and the crisp is toasted. Eat warm. Makes 6 servings.

This crisp did not change my life, but it is tasty. It’s both sweet and tart, and I think it would be awesome with (vegan) ice cream. I have none, so I shall eat it by itself.

With that recipe, I just realized that I am eating totally gluten-free this week, quite by accident, but hey, I’ll take it.

I will share some other meals with you soon.

4 Responses to “How I spent my Sunday afternoon”

  1. Sara Jackson January 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I am trying to find the recipe for your fruit cocktail cake you made Sunday. Can you please e-mail the recipe? Thank you.

    • Brigid January 11, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      Do you mean the Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp? The recipe is in this post. Otherwise, I’m not sure what you mean. I’ve never made a fruit cocktail cake.

  2. Holly Embry January 10, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Will you come cook at my house for 4.5 hours this Sunday? You are making vegan look like the simplest, most tasty thing in the world. I love this blog, and it’s author as well!

    • Brigid January 11, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      You’re too sweet, Miss Holly!

Leave a Reply

