Happy 2011! and playing catch-up/ketchup

1 Jan

Wow. I’ve been a naughty blogger, and for that, I’m very sorry. I have to confess that the holidays bring me down. All I feel is the stress instead of the joy. Couple that with my five-nights-a-week rehearsal schedule, and I haven’t posted in forever. Please accept my apologies.

But it shall not continue. No. I am back in the saddle, on the wagon, or some other kind of western imagery. For starters, here’s how I welcomed the brand-spankin-new year to my life:

Ezekiel 7-Sprouted Grains English Muffin topped with Smucker’s Creamy Natural Peanut Butter and a mug of the delectable Celestial Seasonings Nutcracker Sweet Tea. It’s almost the perfect breakfast.

How is Sully celebrating the New Year? She’s checking out the musical selection.

Yeah, rather non-plussed, eh? I think she prefers easy listening.

If you’d like to feel better about my lack of posting lately, here are a few random meals I photographed and then never shared…until now.

Last night

Leftovers from a Thursday-night dinner at the Brook. I ate an entire basket of friend mushrooms by myself, so I didn’t really make it to my entree. That’s the Fiesta Burger, steamed broccoli topped with black pepper and nooch, and spicy ketchup (just corn-syrup-free ketchup mixed with Chipotle Tabasco and sri racha).

Several times this week

Micro-baked sweet potato topped with On-the-Fly Peanut Sauce Version II (minus garlic) and wilted arugula on the side. The arugula has just been cleaned and then wilted in a pan drizzled with a smidgeon of olive oil over medium heat for about one minute. Then I squeeze lemon on top.

Also this past week

Baked acorn squash topped with Chipotle Tabasco and nooch, more wilted arugula, and a Mexican Coke.

Oh yes, Christmas day. Vegetarian but decidedly not vegan.

I made the buttermilk biscuits, and he made the vegetarian gravy. The sausage is Morningstar. This meal is our Christmas tradition. I need to experiment with vegan gravy recipes to see if we find a good one for next year.

Christmas Eve with my mom’s family

The spread part I:

Various dips, dippers, breads, condiments, and veggies.

The spread part II:

Meaty and cheesy things.

Most of the food came from Lambrusco’z, and it was delicious. I did make cookies, however, a recipe I shall share in its own post.

Christmas Eve with my dad’s family

I only photographed my own plate, but here it is:

Vegan Swedish meatballs, a baked potato (plain), and a salad with Italian dressing. I was pretty stuffed after the other meal that day.

And from the way-back machine…

My dinner on December 11:

Whole-wheat spaghetti with roasted broccoli and my On-the-Fly Peanut Sauce Version II. ‘Twas glorious. If you’ve never roasted broccoli, I highly recommend it. I just spray the pan with a little oil and place clean, well-dried broccoli on it in the oven for about 15 minutes, or until it browns. Heavenly!

So there’s a little taste of my December eats. I promise January will be more fruitful!

(Oh the puns, but I know that’s why you love me.)

3 Responses to “Happy 2011! and playing catch-up/ketchup”

  1. Heather January 1, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Happy New Year! Welcome back to blogging, but I know you’ve been a busy bee. And awww, we buy the same peanut butter! have a happy 2011!

  2. Ashley January 1, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Welcome back and Happy New Year! Thanks for updating and sharing your meals with us. You’ve inspired me to vary my vegetables and break out of my food rut, and for that I am truly thankful. Cheers!

  3. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) January 3, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Sorry to hear you get bummed around the holidays but it is good to have you back.

    Ali

Leave a Reply

