Blob-tastic blogger

6 Dec

Suddenly, things have gotten very busy in my world. Vegan MoFo kept me glued to the computer, and right as it ended, I began rehearsals for The Scarlet Letter. (You’re reading the food ramblings of Hester Prynne, foos!) As a result, it’s been a little quiet around here lately. For that, I apologize.

However, lest you believe the blog is the first casualty of my rehearsal schedule, let me assure you it is not. Because I’m still easing back into exercise following my ankle injury, I have become a blob. Yes, a blob. Not The Blob, but a more blubby version of the Brigid I’ve come to know and love. I have high expectations each and every day of doing something about my blibbity-blubbetiness, but something always gets in the way. Now I’m trying to recommit to working out because, frankly, I’m not impressed with the way my clothes are fitting at the moment. I’m only up about five pounds, but when you’re the size of a dormouse, that shows rather quickly.

Here are the impediments/excuses:

  • I already have to wake up at 6:10 to get to work on time. Thus, I find it unlikely that I will get up at 5:30 to hit the gym.
  • It’s freaking cold outside, so runs (OK, walks punctuated by periodic bursts of slightly faster movement and heart palpitations) after work are not likely.
  • Likewise, my Friday-morning bike rides are a thing of the past. My ballet class ends today, robbing me of my one structured and planned-around exercise session each week.
  • There are no good classes at the downtown Y on Fridays. Sorry, but it’s true.
  • I work until 5:30 and typically have rehearsal at 6:30. By the time I actually drive home from east Tulsa, that leaves me about 10 minutes to walk my dog and five minutes to either change clothes or swallow dinner without chewing.

So, what the heck is a lazy blob-to-be to do? Here are the only commitments I’m able to make at the moment:

  • 20-minute podcasts from YogaDownload.com three days a week.
  • Something – anything – on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. I can take a class or brave the elements outside or go to the gym or use one of my Pilates DVDs or anything.
  • Lifting weights at least twice a week at home. I have no excuse for not doing this one.
  • As always, taking the stairs rather than the elevator at work.

Do any of you folks have recommendations for other ways to fit things in? I really do miss my morning workouts, but with my 7:30 to 5:30 schedule Monday through Thursday, I just don’t think they’re feasible any more.

7 Responses to “Blob-tastic blogger”

  1. kate December 6, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    what about yoga or something on your lunch break? Something low impact to get moving without getting sweaty for the rest of your day.

    • Brigid December 6, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      That’s when I do the podcasts. I used to do them almost every day, but I’ve been lazy. I actually really enjoy them.

  2. Briana December 6, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I know it sounds rather grandma-ish but I wear leg weights around the house in the evenings 🙂 Just a little extra something! If you’ve got larger pants on, you can never tell you’re wearing them! You could wear them around the office if you want! I tend to march-step around the house in them too to get a little more umphf!

    P.S. It was good to see you yesterday! Thanks for coming by!

    • Brigid December 6, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      It was good to see you, too! I hadn’t even thought of leg weights. Sounds like a good option.

  3. Heather December 6, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    I take a pilates class here in Sapulpa twice a week. I’m not sure if you’d be willing to drive down here, but its so reasonably priced. Im sure on the exact cost (since I share with Audrey) but its around $30 a month. Which I dont think is bad at all for two one hour classes. They also have zumba which is more dancy 🙂 This is the website: http://www.dance4ovations.com/index.html

    I’ve found that the best way to exercise at home is to just throw my mat down on the floor while I watch a tv show or a movie. If I can get 20-30 minutes of something going on, I feel like I’ve done my exercises for the day.

    Ooooh, And you’ll be proud….I’ve planned some meatless meals for the coming week 😉 tonight is sloppy joes made with lentils…. :O

    • Brigid December 6, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      I really can’t fit in an evening activity. That’s the problem. Otherwise, I’d be interested.

  4. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) December 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Can you do anything on your lunch hour? If it is too cold to walk outside maybe you can climb steps inside.

    I used to keep a timer in my office and set it go off ever 50 minutes. When it went off I would get up and either do a few flights of steps or just walk to another department and back.

    Congrats on you 3.5 pounds BTW. Sounds like you have things figured out but in case you were looking for other ideas I wanted to add those.

    Ali

Leave a Reply

