Creamy Dreamy Oats and Coffee

19 Nov

I went to sleep sometime between 2:30 and 3:00 this morning. However, I still woke up at 7:40 unable to go back to sleep. Ugh. I am not the kind of person who operates well — or at all, really — on little sleep. I expect a nap is in my afternoon plan.

This morning, though, I have some things to take care of, so I decided to make a warming, filling, caffeinated breakfast. Behold:

Let’s start with the caffeine. Caffeeeeeeeeine! I normally avoid it in the mornings, but if a day ever called for a dose, it’s today. I have my French press at work, so I decided to Italian it up in the moka pot Alice gave me when we stayed with her in Brescia. My first attempt to use it a couple of weeks ago was a disaster. The coffee was cold sludge and totally my fault. This time, however, was a resounding success, thanks to a great explanation from a Venezuelan coworker:

I did it caffe macchiato-style. For those of you whose coffee knowledge begins and ends with a certain Seattle-based java chain, macchiato means “stained,” so a caffe macchiato is coffee “stained” with a little milk. A latte macchiato is basically what we call a latte in this country: milk with a little coffee. It isn’t frothed, though. The macchiato you’re used to bears no resemblance to the real deal. I used about a tablespoon of my homemade almond milk plus a pinch of powdered sugar to make mine.

If you’ve never used a moka before, basically this is how it works:

You work the pieces from left to right. First you put water in the lower chamber up to the air-pressure valve (the copper circle). Then place the middle piece atop it, making sure no water comes through the holes. Fill it to the brim with ground coffee (more or less espresso grind) and wipe any excess from the rim. Then screw the top part on tightly so it seals. Heat it on medium heat until you hear the water boiling in earnest. Delicious!

For some protein, carbs, fiber, and calories, I made my first bowl of oats in a long time. I was inspired by a lot of bloggers who use peanut butter and non-dairy milks, so I did things a little differently than my usual water+oats+maple syrup combo. Witness:

These were so incredibly delicious that I felt duty bound to share the recipe with you.

Creamy Dreamy Oats with Peanut Butter and Banana

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup homemade almond milk
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (NOT instant or quick-cooking)
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 small banana, cut in slices
  • Sprinkling (~1 teaspoon) dark brown sugar

Bring water and almond milk to boil in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Water carefully because the almond milk will get all frothy and try to boil over like real milk. When it’s boiling, add the oats and cook, stirring occasionally, about six minutes. The oats are done when they are creamy and have reached the desired consistency. Pour into a bowl and then stir in peanut butter. Top with banana slices and brown sugar.

This was so freaking good. Seriously. I really don’t want to sound like a braggart, but I was practically moaning while I ate it. The banana and the brown sugar lend some sweetness without turning breakfast into dessert. Plus, it was perfect alongside my coffee. Basically, I think I may be conscious now.

I’m off to bake, so expect another post this afternoon.

One Response to “Creamy Dreamy Oats and Coffee”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Day: Keepin’ it healthy « Vegging out in T-Town - November 25, 2010

    […] normally I wouldn’t touch with all those brown spots, but I needed some fruit), a bowl of Creamy Dreamy Oats, and Italian coffee. I was inspired […]

Leave a Reply

