Gingery Carrots

17 Nov

Last night, I left off with a promise to share the carrot recipe we tried at dinner. I decided I would make good.

I am not a big fan of cooked carrots. I tend to like veggies very crisp, so the typical cooking methods – especially boiling, which I cannot stand, and steaming – often leave produce soggy and limp. When done correctly, that isn’t the case, but, as you can tell, I’m very, very picky. Boiled carrots are one of the most disgusting things in the world, in my opinion.

When I found the recipe we tried last night, I decided that I had to give it a go. First off, it involves shredded carrots. I have no desire to use a shredder (thanks, taller half!), but I do like the texture a lot. The cooking time was incredibly minimal, which is great time-wise and texture-wise. AND it involved lime and ginger. Sounded like a winner.

Stir-Fried Carrots and Ginger with Mustard Seeds (from Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian)

  • 3 tablespoons peanut or canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon whole yellow or brown mustard seeds
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled and coarsely grated
  • 2 inches of fresh ginger, peeled and coarsely grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice

When everything’s grated and measured, heat the oil in a large saute pan over medium to medium-high heat. Add the mustard seeds until they pop, which is almost immediate, and then throw in the carrots, ginger, salt, cayenne, and lime juice. Stir fry for 2 to 3 minutes.

Definitely, definitely a winner. I loved this dish! It was so bright and flavorful between the natural sweetness of the carrots, the bite of the ginger, and the background citrus notes from the lime juice. If I had cooked it for myself (well, or at all – the only work I did on this dish was eating it), I would have toned down the oil, but that’s how I do things.

Give this carrot dish a try if you love ginger. It won’t disappoint!

3 Responses to “Gingery Carrots”

  1. Taller Half November 18, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    True confession – I used 3/4 teaspoon of mustard seeds, 3-4 inches of ginger, a round 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, and probably nearly 2 teaspoons of lime juice (I just used all the juice from one lime).

    Shalom, y’all!

  2. Alicia (Vegan Epicurean) November 18, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I love the sound of those carrots. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

    Ali

  3. Tricia April 12, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Oh yeah, this is a great dish! I grated the carrots and ginger together in my food processor – very quick that way.

Leave a Reply

