Cookbook of the Week #3: Veganomicon

17 Nov

When I say the name of the current Cookbook of the Week, I always sing it to the tune of the “Hallelujah” chorus of Handel’s Messiah: “Veganomicon, Veganomicon, Veganomicon…” You get the idea.

I’ve had this book for about a year, and I really don’t use it as much as I should. Part of the reason is that many of the recipes are more time-consuming than is realistic for my daily lifestyle. However, pretty much everything I’ve made from the book has been a success (with the exception of the floptastic pancakes that one time), so I decided to spotlight it this week. You undoubtedly noticed – because I know you all pore over my words and don’t miss a syllable – that last night’s scalloped potatoes were based on a Veganomicon recipe. I have also thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican Millet, Black Beans with Chipotle Adobo Sauce, the Chickpea Cutlets, and the Pasta e Fagioli.

I wouldn’t recommend Veganomicon for a brand-new cook. Many of the recipes require a large time and effort investment. However, if you know your way around the kitchen and want to expand your vegan-cooking horizons, you must pick up a copy.

And because I’m just all full of warm fuzzies toward Vegan MoFo this month, I’m giving away a copy of Veganomicon! That’s right, friends. This wonderful cookbook could be all yours.

Here’s how you can enter:

1. “Like” the Vegging out in T-Town Facebook page and leave me a comment here letting me know you did. That’ll give you one chance to win.
2. Tweet about the giveaway with a link to this post and leave me a comment with a link to your post. That’ll give you one chance to win.
3. Post about the giveaway on your blog with a link to this post and leave me a comment with a link to what you wrote. Doing so will give you two chances.
4. Leave a comment on this post either telling me what you most want to make from Veganomicon or what you most want to make from my recipes page. This will give you one chance to win.

That means each entrant can have up to five chances to win! Woo hoo! I like them odds. (Yes, “them.” I’m an Okie, remember?) I will use a random number generator to pick the winner. If you want to win, make sure to enter by Sunday, November 28 at 11:59 p.m. Central time. Good luck!

21 Responses to “Cookbook of the Week #3: Veganomicon”

  1. Melissa Dion November 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I “Like” the Vegging out in T-Town Facebook page!

  2. Winnie November 17, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I have heard so many good things about the chickpea cutlets in that book and would love to try them out.

  3. Rivka November 17, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    I want to make the famous chickpea cutlets!

  4. Holly Loveless November 17, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    I’ve already liked your facebook page. Does that count? (-:

    • Brigid November 17, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      Yes, that counts!

  5. Ashley November 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    I liked the page. 🙂 Also, I would love to make the black beans with adobo sauce. Long live legumes! I’m not sure how to link to this post in a tweet with and then link to the tweet with my phone, but I will try. 🙂

  6. Nicole November 19, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I would love to try making the spicy pumpkin dip from your recipes page 🙂

  7. Kim November 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I really want to try making the Leek and Bean Cassoulet from Veganomicon, because I’ve seen photos of it and it looks delicious. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  8. Sheramy November 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    If I won this book, I would actually give it to one of my family members as a gift…there are a couple of people in my family that I know would use it and I would love for them to have it! That said, I have yet to make the S’mlove pie…and I think I will be making that soon!

  9. healthfreax November 19, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I have always wanted this book, and would love to get it! I have never really owned anything like it and being new to veganism, this would be perfect! I could get all my veg. basics in 🙂

  10. Noelle November 19, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    I like you on Facebook!

  11. Noelle November 19, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    I tweeted this giveaway here: https://twitter.com/singerinkitchen/status/5749705229205504

  12. Noelle November 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I have been wanting this cookbook for a long time.Their emapanda recipe is great and I want to make brunch recipes too!

  13. Brittany (Eating Bird Food) November 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    I think I’ve seen a chickpea cutlet recipe around blog world that is from veganomicon that I would LOVE to try. Thanks for the chance to win!

  14. Brittany (Eating Bird Food) November 19, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    I like Vegging out in t-town on facebook!

  15. Kim November 20, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    I really want to try making the Leek and Bean Cassoulet from Veganomicon. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  16. Emily November 21, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I ‘liked’ your facebook page eons ago! Eons, I say!

  17. Ashley November 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Tweeted (@ashcoop) and Liked!

    great blog! 🙂

  18. nik November 22, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    I’d like to make Brigid’s Sesame Garlic Noodles with Veggies

  19. Ryann November 27, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I tweeted you. Tweeted you real, real nice!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Food (on a Thursday Holiday): Season Finale! » V for Vegan: easyVegan.info - November 25, 2010

    […] Vegging Out in T-Town is giving away a copy of Veganomicon. The deadline to enter is Sunday, November 28th @ 11:59 PM CST. […]

Leave a Reply

