Homemade almond milk and Sunday Night Scramble

15 Nov

So what was with that bowl full of wet almonds I posted over the weekend?

I decided to try making my own almond milk. I’m not a big soy milk fan. In fact, it’s probably my least favorite vegan dairy alternative. It mimics the real stuff well in appearance, nutrition, and texture, but the flavor is not my thang. Almond has a much better flavor, but all the packaged stuff is full of fillers and preservatives. Blech. It makes me think of a line from my favorite movie: “There’s no food in your food.” (Can you name the film?)

How do you make almond milk? It’s so flippin’ easy I’m almost embarrassed to call this a recipe.

Step 1: Soak one cup of almonds in enough water to cover overnight. (See above.) Mine stayed in for about 18 hours.

Step 2: Drain the almonds and throw them into the blender with two cups of water.

Step 3: Blend until smooth.

Step 4: Add two more cups of water. Blend until smooth.

Step 5: Strain the liquid through a sieve lined with cheesecloth. Or be super-cheap and ghetto and line with a paper towel instead. I will use the good stuff next time.

Step 6: Store in an airtight container.

That’s it. It took about three minutes in the blender. With a container full of freshly milked almond liquid, I had to make something, right? I decided to transform some leftovers with it. I ended up not with some dignified rice dish or soup. No no, friends, meet my new BFF the Pumpkin Cookie Shake.

This does not contain ice cream. However, I don’t feel as though I can sully the word “smoothie” by slapping the moniker on this definite dessert.

In a blender, combine:

  • 1 frozen banana, in chunks
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons canned pumpkin
  • 1 Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie (or other cookie)
  • 3/4 cup fresh almond milk
  • Sprinkling of cinnamon

Blend until smooth.

Drink and marvel at how amazing you are for creating this luscious dessert. The result is incredibly rich and creamy and wonderful. Not that there is such a thing as a leftover cookie, but it’s a fun way to transform a cookie you just haven’t eaten yet. ‘Twould also be good with vanilla added and really any other cookie you have already made.

3 Responses to “Homemade almond milk and Sunday Night Scramble”

  1. Ashley November 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the almond milk process! I also dislike soy milk, and find rice milk too sweet and thin for most things. You may have inspired me to try making my own! And yum, the pumpkin cookie shake looks heavenly! You have the Best Blog Ever. 🙂

    • Brigid November 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      Aww, you’re too sweet! I’m going to try some more of my almond milk in just a few minutes, but so far I think it’s a winner.

  2. Jeni Treehugger November 30, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this.

Leave a Reply

