Fennel Salad with Orange and Dill

12 Nov

Let’s talk about salad. I like salad. I know that’s what everyone thinks we vegetarians eat at every meal, and while that isn’t true – unless you’re the Vegan Epicurean 😉 – I do try to get as many leafy greens as possible into my week. They are some of the greatest stuff you can eat. Throw in some other veggies and/or proteins, top with a delicious dressing, and what’s not to love?

I’m still feeling culinarily inspired from my trip to Italy (which I will finish recapping soon, I promise!), so when I saw fennel at the store on Sunday, I grabbed it up. My former roommate, Alice, loves raw fennel. The night we ate like beasts at her apartment, she and I snacked on it raw while we were cooking. I loved it! So this week, I decided to combine it with some delicious, local greens to make a tasty salad alongside my Autumn Rice.

Fennel Salad with Orange and Dill

(dressing recipe inspired by 1,000 Vegan Recipes, but mine is oil-free)

  • 2 cups salad mix (pick your favorite, but something with a little bite – such as arugula or radicchio – is nice)
  • 1/2 a fennel bulb
  • Juice of 1/2 an orange
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon dill seeds
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley

Clean your greens and put ‘em on a plate or in a bowl. That’s up to you.

Slice the fennel into bite-sized pieces, and add it to the top of the greens.

In a separate bowl, combine the orange juice, mustard, dill seeds, and pepper to taste. Mix quickly with a fork to combine.

Pour dressing over the salad, and then top with the chopped parsley.

Serve with something hearty and delicious, such as my rice dish.

I normally prefer lemon or lime as the acid in a salad dressing, but the orange is excellent with the fennel. Also, I had a bald orange to use up following last week’s baking extravaganza.

Dill is a great complement to the licorice flavor of the fennel, but if you aren’t a fan, you can just leave it out or sub in tarragon or thyme for a different flavor. I would also like to point out that this recipe contains no garlic. Did you know that was possible? I’m not saying the dressing wouldn’t be good with garlic, but I’m trying to expand my horizons a little. I guess I should do my coworkers a favor once in a while, though.

Have you ever tried fennel? If so, what’s your favorite way to eat it?

Leave a Reply

