Baked Goods Friday

12 Nov

I’ve probably mentioned before that I don’t work on Fridays. It’s a source of joy in my life. Usually I spend them lazing about and/or running errands, but ever since November began, you MoFos have been keeping me in the kitchen.

I told my taller half that I would be making Blueberry Spice Crumb Bars from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. Check out the book for the recipe, but here are the steps.

First you mix together the shortbread dough and the blueberry stuff. This involves a pastry cutter.

Then you press three cups’ worth of dough into a baking pan.

Spread the blueberry mixture on top.

Crumble the rest of the dough on top and bake.

Eat and enjoy.

These are tasty, though they won’t change your life. They could use a thicker fruit layer next time around. I’m not a big blueberry fan, in all honesty, so I decided to whip up a batch of my much-beloved Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

  • 2 cups flour (I used 1 1/2 cups unbleached white and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour this time)
  • 1 1/3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350º F. Grease or line two baking sheets and set them aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine sugars, oil, pumpkin, and vanilla.

Add dry ingredients in batches, folding to combine.

Add the chocolate chips, folding to combine. Drop batter by spoonfuls onto cookie sheets about one inch apart. Bake for 15 minutes, longer if you want a firmer cookie. Let cool on a wire rack. Makes about 30 cookies.

I’ve had about a million today. They’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

